The Age Of The Voyeur

in #art6 years ago

A82496CB-F128-495C-8F81-435564F8EC16.jpeg

Voyeurism

When you think of a voyeur, usually the definition entails ‘observing in order to obtain some sort of sexual gratification’. However, when I think of a voyeur, I think of every single person that I know and every single person that I don’t know, living their day to day lives.

Today, our society operates in the age of the voyeur. We are constantly being watched by our smart phones, smart TVs, cameras on the street, cameras at work, instagram ads, google (know your customer software) and whatever else you can think of that most of us are exposed to on a daily basis. The idea of supervision is usually introduced under the guise of ‘protection’ but we all know that the agenda of the state rarely benefits the people.

960CDDB0-ACB8-4565-80BE-9B0917B48FDD.jpeg

Movies like The Matrix, Hunger Games and books like 1984 were not supposed to be documentaries. It’s scary how close they have become though.

George Orwell’s book: 1984, inspired this Big Brother Is Watching You sketch. I see more and more the similarities of modern day society mimicking this fictional, classic, novel.

CBCF5EE0-A653-46A1-9CA6-42C1690581DB.jpeg

When a society is monitored by the eye in the sky and governed by armed militia on the ground, what space are we leaving for internal and external peace? Freedom doesn’t seem so free after all.

296987DD-EC66-40CD-B2BE-AB87355C18FF.jpeg

I used two pieces of paper to represent the idea that rarely, if ever, are the inhabitants of the planet being shown the full picture.

46FC61F0-9B84-4367-AE8C-15D952B67950.jpeg

This is supposed to be a silhouette of a soldier.

38FA3FE1-7BF8-4998-9F82-3B91424F0641.jpeg

I used a number 2 pencil to outline the silhouette, a blue Crayola colored pencil to color the outside and scissors to cut it out.

C0928CFE-65DF-492D-A01B-6D40B40EBD18.jpeg

See how we aren’t getting the full picture?
We live in the shadow of the military.

Voyeurism: the art of observing to avoid participating.

Voyeurism: the manipulation of participants through observation.

Thank you for stopping by!

Pura Vida ✌️

Sort:  

Luckiest guy I know.

I dig the State link, good one! 👍🏿

The silhouette on a second page.. Genius.

I should be back there in a couple hours. This is an awesome piece of work. I didn’t know you had such a cool story to go with the drawing. U shure can right good.

1984 is my bible. I quote it , and I am very pedantic about it.
A lot of people use it as a way to shine at party, but don't understand that it's here, it has been happening for decades, or 100 of years.
The Power that Be, the oligarchy put in place control History !
They control the official narrative, and anyone questioning it will be labeled as a conspiracy nut.
It all started after JFK assassination and Operation Mocking BIrd, and will continue without anyone flinching?

You know why , because it is so important to fit in, especially in today'society that has become compartmentalized.

I've heard that "A Brave New World" by Huxley shares similar concepts, but 1984 for me just resemble frighteningly what we are witnessing today.

The drawing reminds me of They Live, fucking awesome job

Not only is fitting in a priority but society is being muted through pharmaceuticals, food, tv, social media platforms and whatever else. It’s insane! As people, our purpose is not to blindly work through life, depressed and scared, only to take our last breath having never really lived.

1984 was required reading in my middle school. Since reading that book back then, I’ve seen so many parallels in our reality. It’s only a matter of time before ‘thought crimes’ are here.

Thanks for reading and sharing @edprivat, it’s always a pleasure to see your appreciation of my work.

It's like your work is made for people like me! Literally !

Man, that’s a really nice thing to say. Thank you for the great confidence booster. I like to do a little of everything, sketching, writing, posting recipes 🤷🏼‍♀️ and I just hope people like it. If not, that’s cool too. I have a couple pretty dope followers/friends that appreciate it.

Well Take me as a blueprint for your audience, cool peeps loving spirituality, art and dissidence! I think this platform is full of people like that

I think you’re right.

Hey @edprivat I have to apologise, I didn’t realise this was a video clip; I thought it was only a picture. I haven’t seen They Live before. @dandays had to bring to my attention that you sent me a video to watch and I didn’t view it. Check out what happens when we try to press play on it though:

D3C44BCD-BF26-41E8-9F51-A06F7C75AD9B.jpeg

What a perfect example of censorship, control and fascism.

I was able to pull up a clip from the movie on my own, however. When the character puts on those sunglasses and sees the billboards read as ‘Obey’, ‘Submit’, ‘Marry and Reproduce’, ‘Sleep 8 hours, Work 8 hours’, ‘Stay Asleep’, etc… it shows how people can make movies and write books about it and yet we still OBEY. Crazy!!

and still, it was censored. the actor rowdy piper died 3 years ago, he was very vocal about liberty, he loved cocaine too, that got a toll on him

That’ll take a toll on any of us. I’m always very impressed by people who don’t medicate with ANYTHING in this day and age. Especially when you live with your eyes wide open to all of the ugliness and what seems like hopelessness of this world. Weed doesn’t count! 🤡

Ok if weed doesn't count I agree with ya :)
All those subliminal images have probably a terrible effect on your psyche, sucking the energy out of people like vampires.
I think it creates a nation of natural born killers ( especially in the US), who can be triggered with very specific words through NLP. It sounds like science fiction , but there is a reason why MK Ultra project is born in the US ( look it up)
it can join what @dandays was discovering in the streets the other days, these individuals living in the street can be seen as broken experiments

https://gizmodo.com/project-mkultra-one-of-the-most-shocking-cia-programs-1370236359

Holy shit! This is so messed up. Why don’t more people talk about this? Why isn’t it blasted on our tv screens every night to remind everyone how f’d up our governments are?
Sure, people on the street can be seen as ‘broken experiments’ but they are also seen as ‘invisible’, without voices, without credibility and completely marginalized from society. This is probably a social control tactic to keep everyone in line. I inherently do not trust ANY government agency or pop culture entity nor follower. Funny thing is when you voice something like this, most look at YOU like you’re the crazy one!

If we all adopted a reality like The Venus Project then most of these agency’s and efforts would fall obsolete. Somethings gotta give.

This is quite a good article you found here
" Funny thing is when you voice something like this, most look at YOU like you’re the crazy one!" that's the whole point of it, to discredit the truth.
There is people paid right now to discredit anyone looking for answers.

Do not trust any government! Ever!

So am I still a pervert?

I think the word you’re looking for is ‘provert’. And yes, to some extent all males are. Thank you for checking out my piece. I’m waiting in anticipation for your next post. @carklevicci

I blast through life at the at the speed of a sloth, leaving post after post in my wake. You gotta think reeal slooow or you might miss it.

You’re so funny. Again, @dandays had to be told what I was laughing at. @carklevicci for the win 👏

The whole Voyeur post deserves a serious reply. As I write this, I'm forced to realize that I feel trapped and I know that it's not paranoia, but rather acceptance of the facts. I guess I keep these feelings suppressed but your title sucked me in. I'm gonna watch South Park.

Sure, the entire world has become idle participants in the voyeuristic culture. We are constantly watching each other silently on Facebook, instagram, reality tv and even news broadcasts. We watch, we judge, we go to work, then bed and do it all over again. We do this with less and less actual participation in living and more and more of sedentary existence in an alternate reality (guess that’s where they got the term Reality TV from). It’s troubling to picture what the future holds for all us.

You are Very creative. I like this:)keep up Your good work

Thank you for stopping by @marlenny, I really appreciate the compliment.

Most welcome:)

Awesome post!! Keep it up and check out THIS POST as well as I have something similar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83