Portrait of a lady with a bokeh background

in #art6 years ago

IMG_20181016_185043_390.jpg

Hello wonderful Steemians! Recently I have been really fascinated with the bokeh effect (the blurry representation of out-of-focus areas in high quality photos). This portrait should be third of such I'm doing, though I never really took it serious before.

I had been studying photos and drawings with bokeh backgrounds in the past week then coincidentally got commissioned to do this drawing with a very rich background. It was the perfect opportunity to practice!

The process

I started with the head tie, another item I love drawing so much, purely done with charcoal.
DSCN1571.JPG
DSCN1572.JPG

After which I did a long marathon on the face, neck and chest. I mostly used graphite for the face, except for the eyes, shadows under the nose and lips. Charcoal exclusively for the neck.
DSCN1573.JPG

Then the beads and blouse

IMG_20181016_184756_800.jpg

IMG_20181016_184826_418.jpg

And finally, the part I was anticipating the whole time, the bokeh effect!

This should give an idea of the materials I used
InShot_20181016_192914663.jpg

It was a little challenging at first, trying to smoothen out charcoal all over the background. The secret of the bokeh effect as I discovered is blending, lots of blending. You can't leave any hard lines or rough edges, it all has to be smooth to achieve that crisp blurry effect. I blended with blending stomps, tortillons, cotton buds and brushes. I was really satisfied with how it turned out though, can't wait to do it again and better!

One more thing, there were people I the background, how many can you count?

Summary

Status: commissioned
Size: 12x10 inches
Medium: charcoal and graphite
Duration: 25 hours

Thanks for reading. Kindly upvote, comment and resteem. Feel free to ask any question too.

PEACE

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

This is really nice. I like the blurry effect, it makes them main character stands out. I love it. #bigwaves

Thanks a lot, glad you like it

Fantastic! Fam, you are too much.

Thanks a bunch brother

excellent portrait very well done I congratulate you, I am a fan of drawing I would like to invite you to my blog to know your opinion of my work in blue pen, greetings.

beautiful portrait of a beautiful woman ! the smile is captured perfectly ! well done !

Thanks a lot, glad you like it.

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
mi6e6r67u2.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43