Art on the street with Scupltor James Gion

in #art7 years ago (edited)

A few summers ago I was walking down the street and saw this man sculpting a clay bust on the sidewalk. I realized this was the creator of the busts at the Occupy Portland office at the time. I spoke to the man with enthusiasm "we still have the busts of the houseless people you sculpted at the Occupy Portland encampments!" This conversation lead to instant friendship. This quirky character seemed less interested in his previous sculptures location than who I was and if I would model for a bust.

This photo speaks for the days spent perched on a chair in vast conversation. We spoke of politics, history, and our own lives. Jim spends his days learning individuals stories as he masterfully crafts a bust. He believes in the houseless voices being heard. Here is a link to his project called the Stories of Empire.
http://www.storiesofempire.com/about.html

You can still find Jim outside the High Low Gallery molding clay and inquisitively talking to a model on the sidewalk.
If you find him chat him up, tell him I said hi! Last I knew he sells self portrait busts $300 and contracts customized bronze sculptures. He made the bronze lions for the Oregon Zoo.

Portia Jay's
Bitcoin Address: 16iVpGH4LBcFV4bguqVNBHiWQDYRpChQKo

Sort:  

Oh wow, this is fantastic. So you're the model here, right? And you held that posture for days, while he sculpted your likeness, right? Well, I applaud the two of you for your commitment to this task. It really inspires me to know you both must've been so generous with your time and energy, and received many rewards from the conversation and friendship that formed here, along with the artwork. I'm upping, resteeming, and following you.

Yes, it was very fun! Thank you. I will check out your page too! I am really enjoying Steemit because it is consistently proving to be a network of people who value good connection with others. Much like my time spent with Jim. What is life without stopping to smell the roses?

O wow how long did it take him to make that bust of you and did you have to sit there the entire time?

Oh, to be clear we sat one day a week for two months. You can keep working on one clay piece for months by keeping moistened towels and plastic over the sculpture. Surely he could have sculpted faster but we enjoyed ourselves. I still need to go pick up the bust!

I've seen street artists doing paintings, but never sculpture. How amazing! I love his idea for stories of empire. Having a persons story to go along with their sculpture makes it that much more personal. Thanks for introducing us to Jim. Btw, I am a curator with @ocd and would love to nominate your post.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.

I would be tickled pink to have this posted nominated! I will add the tag ocd-resteem. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81