Sunset trees! Reviewing and using the Reeves Oil crayons.

in #art8 years ago

This morning I got the new oil crayons I ordered and I could not wait to try them out! 

It felt a bit like a early Christmas gift to be honest when I opened the package and saw them! I watched a few videos on Youtube to see how others work with these kind of crayons and most made it look like something really easy!
So, after my third super mug of coffee I sat down and started to draw. 

Meet my sunset trees!
They look so fluffy tree-like I want to cuddle them! I am happy with the outcome but it was harder than they made it look online. On the other hand this was really my first try working with oil crayons or any kind of crayons for that matter so my opinion might change in time. 

These crayons are my new best friend when it comes to brightness of the colors!
They are from Reeves and the box tells me this:
-Highly pigmented ( I agree 100%)
-Smooth creamy consistency ( I agree 100%)
-Excellent for color layering ( I agree 100%)
-For use on paper, canvas and boards ( I only used paper and that worked perfect.)
-Very easy to blend ( I don't agree so I give this a 75% score) 

It was easy to draw with them and it worked perfect on the paper I used and the layering works truly amazing. Even when I used a lighter color on dark it showed up perfect. I really love the brightness of the colors even after mixing and blending the colors stay perfect. The blending however did not work as I thought it would. The colors did mix but I also noticed that the layers formed a clot on my paper and it was really hard to get rid of those parts. I used my fingers for the blending so maybe it works a bit better when I use a cloth or paper towel.  Overall I really like working with these crayons and I recommend them 100% .

I am already hooked and I wonder how long one crayon will go on before I have to but new ones!
I am also ordering soft crayons soon because now I want to know more and more about the things I never wanted to touch as a child. They felt weird at my fingers and I refused to use them. 

I thought lets throw in a close-up!

Thank you for taking the time to read my post.

Remember to smile and enjoy the little things in life. Even in Winter nature offers you a glimpse of pure beauty. 

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.46 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I love the sunset. And the oil pastels are so nice!

Thank you kindly! They are amazing and I feel like a kid in a candy store!!!

Beautiful picture, well done!

Thank you so so much! :D

@poeticsnake Nice artwork! I love using oil pastels where did you get them? I couldn't find any out here - nada in action, blocker, art winkel - ik heb alleen maar oil paint, acryllic enzofort maar die niet

Thank you so so so much!
Ik heb zo online gekocht bij dekwast.nl
Die verkopen meerdere soorten!

@poeticsnake ah, dank je wel - nergens heb het hier in de Filipijnen zijn er veel toen ik hier kwam had ik voor ze overal gezoekt zelfs bij de art winkel hier - niks T.T

Hopelijk kan je ze nu wel vinden. Hier bij de action verkopen ze ze wel maar volgens mij zijn dat echt geen goeie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55117.74
ETH 2310.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31