Late to the Party

in #art8 years ago (edited)

It's Winter Break right now, so I'm out of college until January. I've really enjoyed it, I learned a lot and met new people. I even made all A's while taking 19 hours worth of classes! Though... It was at the expense of my social life.

I was planning to go in for 15 hours next semester, but I just can't bring myself to drop the Astrology class. It's such a cool subject! But alas, unless I drop it, I'm stuck with 19 hours again.

I definately need to manage my time better this time, because I missed out on some fun while I was away! I had wanted to post some fanart in time for TOME's update (if you don't know what TOME is, it's a really fun web show, you should check it out!), but while I was uploading it, I fell asleep while typing the description. I still haven't gone back to fix it, I don't even know what to put anymore.

I also missed out on some job opporrunities. My dad doesn't want me to get a job, he wants me to focus on school, but I go a little stir crazy without one.

We lost one of our vehicles in a wreck recently, so I tried to find some work online. I got a couple gigs, enough to pay some bills, though I have a doctor's appointment today that I had forgotten about, so I guess I'll have to work even more.

I don't hate it, though. Losing that vehicle gave me an excuse to find work drawing for people online instead of getting a standard 9-5 job. But also, I seem to have stumbled into a sort of odd internship while trying to promote myself.

I definately have to try and continue working like this when college starts back. It's fun, and I'm a workaholic anyway, so I don't mind it as long as I can manage my time well enough.

But I'm also sad because Steemit and the Steemians I'd hoped to get to know have all done some growing while I was away. It seems that even a couple people I started following have become successful here?! I'm sad that I didn't get to watch that happen.

Even still, it's kind of inspiring. I wasn't really sure what I wanted to do here, but I was probably going to become more of a lurker than an active contributor. As in, I would follow people and post comments, but I didn't know if I would be uploading much content, myself.

But I think I will be. I've gone off-and-on with becoming a comic artist over the years, because it's a dream I had rather passionately in High School, but when you get out into the real world, it's much harder and scarier than I would have thought before. A lot of the fun had been taken out of it, and my creativity was stifled because I worried too much about what other people would think of my ideas.

I think, with Steemit, it could feel more like it did when I was just posting silly things online. I really enjoyed that time, and have wanted to recapture it, but I wasn't sure how. I think, if I can go back to just making things I enjoy, I'll actually be brave enough to post them, and maybe other people will enjoy them, too.

But the thing about Steemit, it feels kind of like making a YouTube channel. Yeah, you can get money, and there's certainly people who come here for that reason, but there's also no real pressure to do so. You can just post whatever catches your fancy, and if you get success doing that, well great! But if not, then you're still having fun.

And that's what I really miss. Having fun.

So here's to plans of better time management, to plans of going out and making comics like I'd dreamt of as a kid, and of having fun, regardless of whether that's my main deal or if I mostly do gigs or a steady job as my main means. Here's to making the most of life.
Cheers!



(That being said, I’m in the middle of a couple gigs, so until I finish those, I’m probably gonna post doodles, concept art, sketches, stuff like that. Stuff like what I've posted on this post.)
(Future comics will look much nicer, LOL)


Want to see more of my stuff? Check out my [Masterpost]!
Check me out on deviantART and Tumblr, too!


Sort:  

hahaha, I wish we had WINTER now, but as you saw on my post, we are at the top of our summer, I feel like I am melting!
Thank you so much for the resteem by the way.

Ohoho, yes, it's nice and cool here! I live in the south, so it's not usually unbearably cold, but on the other hand it hardly ever snows!
Its a trade-off. ┐(︶▽︶)┌

And its no problem! I had been wanting to try out the resteem feature since I got back, and this way I have easier access to your tasty recipies! (っ❛ ڡ❛ς ) LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61956.82
ETH 2417.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62