His name was Erl

in #art6 years ago

8bd24ba1-fa98-47da-b856-93d9d25d7739.jpeg


Erl Close Up

His name was Erl Van Douglas. That was his listing on IMDB. He was also known as Erl Van Aken, in the body modification circles. At this time, tattoos and piercings hadn't hit mainstream. In school, we would often have models who were actors looking for their big break. Erl was in Blade (1998).

Erl Photo

This painting was done in Richard Bunkall's Head Painting class. This was one of my favorite classes at Art Center.

Richard wasn't impressed with this piece. It was a 2 hour pose that I used a 4 color limited palette for. He felt I was playing it safe. He knew I was relying on my strength, which at the time was drawing, and I wasn't risking failure. And he was right. I was afraid of going out of my safe zone. But gradually, in other paintings, I did. The whole time I was in school, I felt like I didn't know enough. I always felt like there was something lacking in my work, something vital, like salt, while cooking a savory meal. I felt there was a secret that everyone knew but me.

I think I've gotten better in some areas and worse in others over my career. I think change can be good, and it forces you to adapt. So right now, this is part of my purge. I'm striving to grow and put some of this old stuff behind me.

Thanks for watching,
Sheff @PixelColada

Click here for my last post.

YouTube - Instagram - Twitter - Facebook - Blog


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55350.11
ETH 2887.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27