24 Hour Comic Challenge. ARE YOU UP TO IT?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

What is a 24-hour comic you wonder?


"A 24-hour comic is a 24-page comic book written, drawn, and completed in 24 hours. Cartoonist Scott McCloud came up with the challenge in 1990 as a creative exercise for himself and fellow comics artist Stephen R. Bissette. Beginning in 2004, writer Nat Gertler Help"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/24-hour_comic

This is my original 24 hour comic > Front Cover

2017-03-29 13.33.51.jpg

This is after the challenge > Edited Front Cover.

WWARS000web.jpg

This video will tell you more about how the 24 hour comic challenge started and more.

There is no planning so you don't know what you will do until you place the pen to your paper.

2017-03-29 13.34.10.jpg

Original unedited "WWARS" comic pages

2017-03-29 13.18.57-1.jpg

On the spot I came up with the comic "W.W.A.R.S." (What Would A Ranter Say)

WWARS001web.jpg

WWARS is a comic about a very angry boy who lives with his crazy maker mom and his violent dad. This insanely abusive family atmosphere has added the extra burden to save the planet for the young boy. "What Would A Ranter Say" was my first attempt at a 24 hour - 24 page comic book. I was pleasantly surprized at how it turned out.

WWARS page2.jpg

I will try it again this year (October 4th 2017.) but will do things differently.
First, I will get enough rest before the 24 hours and I will organize my time.

WWARS003.jpg

I am still editing my 24 hour comic challenge and I'll show you when I'm finished.

Has anyone else tried doing a 24 hour comic challenge?
Would anyone like to try their hand at a 24 hour comic challenge?
Some people have done funny stick figure comics and cut and paste. You can make it as simple or comple of a comic you want.
I did mine at home as I am easily distracted, but, this year I may try drawing my comic book at a comic book store.

I wanted to do this on my mobile phone but the app esteem closes me down. Yesterday it worked fine. I think I need to ask for some help. For now I uninstalled esteem.

U5du7oHWNNkRsQpBk5o1XBdpanrUGKW.gif

Sort:  

Oh, the rage. This sounds like fun for some weekend.

Oh it is and you will be amazed the ideas that come out when you put yourself in that position. I know I was. Thanks for stopping by. I was getting lonely in here by myself.
followyourheart-1.gif

Pure awesomeness! :)

Wow... thanks. Would you be interested in doing a comic challenge or have you tried it before?
This year I will prepare for it and get enough sleep but I'll still need the mojo java.
giphy.gif

Thank you so much! I'd love to do that, but I'm afraid I'm too busy with several other projects right now. Anyway, I'm gonna follow it, for sure ;)

That's cool. The international happening is in October4th week but you can do one anytime you want where ever you want. Thanks again for the follow and vote.

All right, that is really cool, thanks a lot! Cheers :)

I love the concept of your comic and what you've done with it ^_^
I might try the 24 minute version of this challenge.

That would be great and I hope you would post it on steemit if you do the challenge. You can do it whenever you want, too. I'll probably try to do one by myself before the event to see if I can pace myself and learn from my mistakes. The international date should be the first week on Oct 4th 2017. Comic book stores should be posting, chatting and putting out posters about hosting it at their establishments..
24-hour-comic-day-logo_header.jpg

I've told myself for years that I'd do this challenge, but I definitely want to do it at an official site because I feel I'd need the cameraderie and festive atmosphere to power through.
I haven't been able to arrange the couple days off from my day job yet, but perhaps this is the year... we'll see!

Yes it looks like it would be great to do it at a comic book store but for me it was a distraction. I believe I would be disciplined enough to do it this year. Still it would take drawing a page in less than an hour. Some people practice as if it was a marathon.
24hourcomic-corey.jpg

I have never tried it myself - I actually just returned to the comic after many years with painting, handmade graphic and installation. But I remember back in the nineties where it was all the rage among my cartoonist friends. They made some fine stories.

Your comic looks great - hope we will see something of the new 2017 challenge too :)

Why didn't you try doing the comic challenge in the 90s with your cartoonist friends?
It'll be exciting to see what oozzzes out of my brain pan for the next challenge. Should I be scared? It's one thing doing it in private it's another exposing what rattles around in your inner world.
24.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99