The Past is Under our Feet - Historical Finds for Steemit - See my TreasuresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

Hi Steemians! I noticed the attention paid to my objects found in my last post and I thank you all for the support and upvote! Now as requested by some here is the continuation of my collection. I chose some pieces and I mixed the photos so that the post is not too long. The rest of my collection in the next post.


  • On the left is a Roman fibula, these were used to hang clothes. From top to bottom: a celtic potin, a religious medal and a nummus of constantin.

  • I was very surprised to find this coin in front of my house, this is an Argentinian coin dating from 1891.
    Dos centavos - Libertad - Republica Argentina

Now let me introduce you my Silver coin. What a joy when you make such a discovery !

  • Louis XIV or Ludovicus XIIII a french coin dating from 1675

  • A "Maille de Lille" dating from the XIII th Century (certainly between 1250 - 1300) and an other french coin dating from 1867 a Napoléon III - 50 Cent

  • Witness of the Dutch occupation in Belgium, here is a silver Willem from 1823 ( Belgium revolution in 1830 ) followed by a 1/2 Mark dating from 1903 (unfortunatly the face with the bird is scratch).

  • Here are two Roman nummus, I have always been impressed by the quality and detail of their coins. The first is from Constantinus and the second is a Tetricus.

  • I could not identify the first here which is a sesterce. As you can see, the second is stillin constantin which testifies to the longevity of his reign

  • Enjoy the beauty of a coin more than 1800 years old !!

  • I find not only coins but also religious medals because more than two hundred years ago there was not far from my home a convent of sister.

  • Here are some small objects discovered:

  • Different kinds of fibulae, note the differences as well as the evolution

  • Still a few pieces of fibula and on the right a pinhead.

  • It would be interesting for someone to identify this, I hesitate between bells or old grenades. Below, they are keys. The left one is a Roman key, folded unfortunately and a key dating from the middle age.

  • Always a key and then the head of a fibula.

All this takes time, cleaning and patience. Do not believe that I acquired all this in a short time, it took me days and hours of research.


If you like my post please, upvote and follow @pickoum

Sort:  

Amazing what you can find in the ground.

I just show you the best lol count for 1 coin 10 cans of beer :p In the same time I clean the fields

some great finds in there, well done.

Being a Rockhound I know all about finding treasures on and in the ground. but low hanging branches give me an awful headache :-D. I've not been so fortunate to find the "Holy Grail" of treasures, rock or otherwise. Maybe some day.

A treasure was found not far from my home exposed now at the cabinet of medals. I'm on the Bavay-Cologne road and there are many fields without construction since that time all around me :)
Hope for you (and me) to find the Graal one day :)

Nice! I wear a silver Roman coin around my neck! Love ancient stuff! Mine says L. Censor on the back of it.

cool I don't have a Censor but I have a sesterce perforated certainly they used the same technics to carry their coins
Thanks for your reply ;)

No problem. Love old coins, wish I found mine!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 30. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.58 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 30 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

thank you ;)

Those are some amazing finds! wow!

Thanks so much @firepower ;) I'll post another soon! Happy New Year !

Happy new year to you too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62241.82
ETH 2433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57