Love Still Has Something Of the Sea - Mixed media

in #art8 years ago (edited)

"Love still has something of the sea,
From whence his Mother rose;"
Sir Charles Sedly.

My experiments with colour and texture continued and of course there was more gold acrylic and Gesso involved (I am rapidly falling in love with both of them)..I had to include some pencil shavings after reading @poeticsnake's what's on my desk and why the hell is it on my desk?.

To make this piece I used

  • watercolour paper
  • Gesso
  • Acrylic paints
  • Coloured inks
  • Pencil shavings
  • Napkins & assorted papers
  • Pastel pencils
  • Soft pastels

Time For The Progress Photos


Texture and base colours



Main colours



Highlighting Texture



Disaster Strikes


(add salty tears after gluing quote the wrong way round,
use tears to gently rub away remenants and several layers of paint)

Put on your big girl pants and fix it!



Add a Few Finishing Touches!
Taa Daa!
Artwork compleate.


Thanks for popping by
follow me if you'd like to see more
@phoenixmaid.

Sort:  

Nice work. The depth of the blues and the touches of bronze and gold really give it a mysterious, moody feeling. It's lovely. I really love this.

Hi Jenkinrocket, nice to meet you and thank you for the wonderful comment I am pleased you like it/

Fab work, I love the different textures and shades:)

Thanks Karen, building the texture is so much fun i want to gesso everything lol.

I love the colours in this.

I'm glad you like them, achieving rich colours has been a bit of an issue since i started using acrylic.

OK I didn't know that about acrylic. I always used to use oils. I have some acrylics that I will hopefully get round to testing out at some point.

I don't think you'd any trouble having worked with oils before, other than the odd dabble years ago I've always worked in pen or ink. So my colour work has been rather flat and lifeless over the last few weeks.
I'd hoped to come back from my laptops meltdown with lots of work and be ahead of myself, but having the time to practise and not worry about posting has been equally valuable to me.

I love how it turned out!

Thanks @anca3drandom, I do to. Although it was touch and go when i glued the quote on the wrong way lol.

It happens sometimes :)

It's wonderful, and such lovely colours!

Thanks Opheliafu, and thank you for inspiring me to pick up some metallic paints. How did i survive this long without them.

Beautiful colours! I'm off to Google gesso!!

Oh gesso is soooooo much fun. It's mainly used to prime canvases, but it's like chalk paint with glue in

That's cool. I love the colours that you get from acrylic paint as well. So intense

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64526.07
ETH 3116.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55