What is Live Painting - a quick guide

in #art7 years ago

Hey everyone! I thought I would take a few minutes today to discuss live painting. I started live painting a year and a half ago and it’s been a really interesting journey. I’ve met a ton of cool people and helped introduce some other artists into live painting. So what is it? Well live painters go to music events and set up to, you guessed it, paint live!

My first live painting gig, at a festival in Ohio.
876A7705-60A2-4E7C-AA57-73AF52B2449C.jpeg

It’s really interesting to change the usual dynamic of painting solo at the studio, and instead be in such a flurry of activity. I find that I accomplish less progress while live painting, but the inspiration is awesome and it’s cool to network while painting.

This was the strangest event I’ve painted at, but super cool! It was at an underground biker bar!
F83F2FA4-5DD5-4476-99C9-E99BE37372C3.jpeg

My favorite thing about live painting is being able to talk about art with strangers. After all, it’s one of my favorite subjects to discuss! As someone who didn’t go to art school, it’s also been a fantastic way to meet other artists!

Collaborating on a painting live!
BEF5352E-CF5D-4309-927F-25389C3D8E7B.jpeg

The toughest thing about life painting is hauling around so much gear. I have a giant easel that I bring everywhere, along with some art for sale, my paints, and usually some other necessary odds and ends.

Live painting this fall in Chicago.
AE93E0DC-9638-48A2-BF90-2FB0ACC668AB.jpeg

I’ve had a ton of fun doing this, and although I’m cutting back a bit this winter, I look forward to doing a few more select events throughout the year!

Painting at a festival this winter, I also coordinated all the live painters for the event!
83422A93-5B3C-43C1-8E25-224F84DB3B8C.jpeg

Artists what do you think, do you think you would enjoy live painting or do you prefer the comfort of a studio?

Sort:  

This looks really cool and I'd love to be a spectator, but I am far too much of an introvert to ever want to paint in such a way. Even when I paint en plein air in the Summer, I am lucky enough to have a private outdoor area to do it, so I don't have any lookie loos. But, more power to you and I'm sure you really feed off the other people's energy and it certainly shows in your works so good on you!

I definitely feel that, it’s not for everyone! I know I have certain paintings or steps in paintings that I don’t want to paint in front of people.

I think I know what I am doing, but I am never quite sure -I hate to expose flaws when I am experimenting, and basically, each new work is a experiment (I would get bored painting what I already know to do well). More power to you though! I remember painting on the sidewalk in Gama Stan in Stockholm in my formative years - and back then, I really didn't know what I was doing, lol!
Upvoted and resteemed ......

Thank you! I definitely understand that feeling. There’s usually at least one portion of a large painting where I feel confident enough in my plan to paint it live. The parts where I’m more unsure I always work on privately. Typically I will do a max of 1-2 live sessions of a painting and another 2-4 sessions in my studio.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69