Reclaimed Stained Glass Art

in #art6 years ago (edited)


Our beautiful reclaimed stained glass piece by artist, Laurel Johns.


I recently read an interesting article by @tattoodjay about some breathtakingly beautiful stained glass art he had photographed. The article reminded me of a piece of art my wife and I purchased many years ago from a friend of ours from high school. I wanted to take some pictures of the piece and upload it for all to see and share, but for the life of me I could not find the piece. I looked all over the house, in storage, in the garage, and even the basement, but I just could not find it.



Well since the weather has been beautiful and summer is almost here, my lovely wife has opened all the shades and curtains on the house and as I was leaving for work tonight, low and behold the long lost piece was laid before me hanging in our front windows to the home. It had been covered all this time by the heavy curtains that are normally drawn short! So I grabbed a few shots to upload and share.



We bought this particular piece art at an Atlanta area art festival our friend was attending. She is an amazing artist and she specializes in reclaimed stained glass pieces and unique kitchen and homeware pieces expertly crafted from found sea glass. It was great to catch up with her and she gave us a great deal on the featured piece.

The artist's name is Laurel Johns and her work can be found here at her website.



Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

That is a cool peice @papacrusher!

I like the use of the wine and vodka bottles.

Wow that is pretty cool! I like the absolute pieces with text on them.
Sweet!

Thanks. We fell in love with it the moment we saw it.

that's such a great piece! Love that it's all recycled. I wonder how she made them all flat...unless the art piece is curved at parts? Thanks for sharing!

Thanks. It has curves and bulges throughout.

Beautiful piece. I can see why you chose it. Clever to put it in a window 😎

Thanks for taking the time to come by and comment. It is one of my favorite pieces.

that is a really cool Piece I would love something like that

I thought you may like it. Once, I clear it with my better half, I'll add it for you in my will....lol

When I saw stained glass you had me there. Crazy about the art from church windows to art pieces like this. Thank you for sharing it's beautiful. I could go on half a day just shooting stained glass windows that's how crazy I am lol.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. We definitely share a love for stained glass!

I can see why you bought this, truly amazing craftsmanship.

She is a great artist and we were happy to support her work.

Very beautiful stained glass!

Thanks for coming by and checking it out, it is definitely one of the favorite pieces we have purchased.

Ah it's so pretty, love it!

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We think so too!

LOL! Sounds like something I'd do (meaning, the looking for something that turns up in an unexpected place, not the gorgeous stained glass work). That is a truly glorious piece, and I took a peek at her website - holy cannoli, she is talented! And she spends time in New England - wicked cool! Thanks for sharing her awesome work with us, @papacrusher!

lol That is an everyday occurrence with either my wife or I! She is definitely an extremely talented artist and we were so happy to be able to support her in some small fashion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90