You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art Content creators have to help themselves! Proposing a collective work to get more visibility (And Steemarket Art Contest #3 - Submit your art and win 20SBD!)

in #art7 years ago (edited)

thank you very much for your comment, Arthur. I agree with your analysis - I wrote something not so different a few months ago (and I'm still working to complete it, if ever I will be able to).
This kind of analysis is also similar to the one William Gaddis did in his last book, "Agora, agora". But times have changed from when Gaddis wrote it, and his pessimistic point of view could change too.
The only thing I believe for sure is that artists have to work together. Of course I understand the wish to become rich and famous, at least a bit. We artists live in incertainty more than any other man, and that's hard. Money and fame are the soothing.
But things are changing. Not in one or a few years, but I can see the change coming. (Decentralization is somehow something going in the same direction, I could say.) I hope to can see that change.
But now, can we do anything more than making our art and talking and writing about it?
The Art Market is a big business, and it won't let anything change it till there is money to earn. Even Street Art - something that could be really different - has been swallowed by the Market...
But let's stay in the topic: a Steem Art community. I really would like to be part of it and help to create it. A free guild, not working by delegation of voting power but by the active partecipation, could be a new, different way to help each other as artists and to share each own's work.
Honesty and integrity are really needed in it.
And I'd say also that mutual, sincere appreciation is needed: that means that there can no be just one group, but more that one. No one should be forced to appreciate and support an artwork he thinks it's garbage, or simply he doesn't like.
It can happen if at least some of the good artists that are on Steem accept to work for it.
Otherwise, this is just another post that will get its reward and will pass.

Sort:  

100% agree. At least a discussion has begun and that is a good first step.
Personally I have abandoned any ambition for fame. I survived a serious life threatening illness 3 years ago. Ever since then I live each day as a gift. Materialism and fame are meaningless to me now but of course I respect others right to have dreams and ambitions. However, I do have a desire to be part of restoring integrity back into art. I agree that a new decentralised future will certainly have part to pay. I think the answer will come. We have a saying in Norway "The path is made as you walk it".
If you wish for any help or participation in future projects or plans, please count me in. Thank you for taking the time to write back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15