Altered books. How the web changed something.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

As I said in my previous post on this subject, making altered books as artworks was something that gave to me some guilt. Books are somehow sacred things, in a very secular way (in many religions too, but I'm not interested in religion). 

So, when I started using books to make artworks - cutting them, pasting them, painting and even burning them - I felt a bit guilty. It was about 20 years ago, and people wasn't used to see books destroyed in the name of Art. Surrealism, Dada, Pop Art and Conceptual had used books already, of course. But that discomfort coming from a raped book still lasted, in people and in me too.

What's changed now? Well, the Web above all. Books are not anymore the only depositaries of the free flow of knowledge. And tyrannies and fascist regimes are not burning books in the squares anymore (they censor and control the web, instead, as far as they can). 

In addition, there are ebooks and ebook readers. Paper-based things are accompanied by electronic ones, everywhere. I don't think paper books are going to become extinct, but surely their responsibilities and their duty are lighter now.

In 2001 I took part to a project and a collective exhibition titled "La fin du livre ? Ou tout l'univers n'existe que pour un livre". It was about Borges's suggestions on books and libraries faced with persistent attacks on freedom in our society. Are these risks and feelings so far and gone, today?

Anyway, I keep usings foolish and expendable books to make my artworks. And I still feel guilty.


Sort:  

Hello @paolobeneforti,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If do not wish to be promoted by SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

That's amazing. Thx so much! Beeing a newbie, I'll check the link to understand how this thing works :)

Nice piece to share with us all as I figure many of us are infovores and tend to love books more than many out there.... I guess you, of all people, just happened to love them to death, giving them another life!

Thanks for the very beautiful and inspiring sharing! All for one and one for all! Namaste :)

Don't feel guilty... these are beautiful.

I hope editing a voted post is ok, cos I had to correct a big mistake in the text :)

Brilliant! So happy to see you having success here, well deserved!

kus-knee (The Old Dog)

thx so much, OldDog. it's unexpected. I still can't figure out how whales choose which posts reward ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82