First time painting - Watercolour Poppies

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I decided that I wanted to try out some watercolour and acrylic paints while I was out at the store earlier today.  I picked out some inexpensive paints and more paper.  I also picked up some more markers and colouring pencils.  I figured it would keep me busy for awhile!  After I got home I couldn't really wait to get started with trying to paint at least something.  I decided I'd try and give it a go with my favourite flower which happens to be a Poppy.  I know I have a lot of practising ahead of me but what the heck I'd give that a go then later one I plan to look around online to see what I can find out about some painting techniques and styles.  Upon trying my hand at a few different pictures I decided I would take some quick pictures to get them posted to get some critiques.  

I took pictures of the paint kit, the paper and some of the paint brushes.  I also took a few pictures of getting started and last but not least I posted the final product in larger pictures.  I know I am new at this and it will take time and I won't become Monet overnight but hey I am sure I will have some fun along the way.  

So I'd like some suggestions and any type of advice that you would think would benefit me.  I hope my work isn't too terrible.  

Until next time have a wonderful day!  :)

** Had to edit for better formatting.

Sort:  

Sorry to hear about the issues you are experiencing but it happens every so often. Just quit fussing with it take a short break and come back to it in a little while. Maybe then you'll be able to sort out your troubled issues. I think you did a great job painting the poppies!

Aww thank you @bunnypuncher! Great idea perhaps I can try that! :)

Gotta start somewhere! I love that feeling of being so excited to try a new medium or material. I painted a while ago a portrait of B. Arthur from The Golden Girls I should try and find that.

@dylanshae I've had nothing but errors today with trying to post and then after posting trying to correct my errors. I've never had these issues before. But on the other hand I know what you are talking about... being so excited about a new medium or material. I've been so excited since finding steemit it's not even funny. I've been wanting to create create create! Yes you should go find your picture you painted of B. Arthur! That's so cool you choose to paint Dorothy!!! I take it you're a golden girls fan? I watched all of them when growing up! :)

Ohhhhh yeah my mom always watched it so I did. Funny show! I'm brand new to Steemit myself and just trying to navigate through this whole crazy ecosystem.

What have you found so far?

ooo. even more beautiful on this post! :)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@alchemage has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@reported has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80