Urban ColoursteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

IMG

Yesterday, I shared with you my post Urban Lines, a series of cityscape drawings. Today, I continue that series with the introduction of colour.

Continuing with the same building shapes as yesterday's line drawings I drew out the cityscapes in marker pen, using only 2 coloured markers for each image. There will be a figure running in the foreground on the final design, so I need to keep the background details and colours simple.


'Views from the pavement- red'


'Views from the pavement- blue'

Applying darker tones.

For this stage I used water-based paint and pen applied over marker pen. I like the effect of using the darker tones over the bright marker pen. I don't always use black in my work as it can flatten colour, but for this subject matter I think it works well to define the shape and sharp edges of the city buildings.


'Through the window'

'Views from the pavement- red'

' Views from the pavement- blue'

'Red dusk city'

I hope you enjoyed viewing these colourful cityscapes!

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.88 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

such a very very beautiful simplicity. I really like it.

Thank you for your nice comments @sumsum

I love through the window :)

It is an interesting viewpoint, I'm happy you like it.

It is, the colours are lovely too :)

Beautiful work lady @opheliafu, thank you very much for sharing your work with us

My paintings would get very lonely if I didn't have people like you to share them with. They thank you for your friendship.

Beautiful, like visual Haiku. I especially like "through the window"!

A visual Haiku- I like that description! I may do some writing around the 'through the window' image. I've only been drawing the last few days. I've been pretty ill this week with a cold so my ability to string sentences together, yet alone poetry has been very limited!

They are very beautiful @opheliafu ;)

Oh, I really like!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50