Urban Lines

in #art7 years ago

Tiny cityscapes built from line and tone. Views from apartment windows. Views from pavements across to imaginary skylines dominated by concrete giants.

These black and white drawings are part of a series of drawings I have been working on during the development process of a larger design. I thought it would be interesting to share that process with you.

I wanted to create a simple cityscape for the background of a design which will have a figure in the foreground. However, the look of simplicity isn't always simple! Getting the right amount of tone and contrast in the image without making it look cluttered can be a hard thing to balance. I wanted a combination of line styles in the piece, but I didn't want the image to become cluttered.


The figure that will go in the foreground will be running, the line and mark making on the figure drawing will be energetic and dynamic. As an artist I need to make the decision on whether the background will also carry this same movement in the line or in juxtaposition be still against the movement of the runner.

I hope you enjoyed this glimpse into the design process and these tiny cityscapes. The next stage will be working with colour, this will bring with it a different set of challenges!

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for the insight. I don't truly appreciate things until I try to create them myself This post helps me appreciate the effort and talent behind the art. 👍🏽

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 08 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I always liked the works in gray or black tones, excellent idea @opheliafu lady, good job thank you very much for sharing

I sketch like this all the time, but never think to share them! Whenever you see a piece of my work that looks very simple in format there is usually half a dozen images behind that 'simplicity'.

If I am sure, I suppose, the great majority of the times of these sketches are great works. Thank you very much for sharing your work with us.

Good job, @opheliafu ! I love to see the sketches behind the pieces of artworks! Thanks for share ^_^

Always a pleasure to share, thank you for visiting my post today.

Thank you for posting @opheliafu.

Lovely drawings and presrentation. Appreciate you bringing to Steemit some of the editing through the artist's eye that takes place behind the scenes. Yes...you are right...many steps before the final result is presented. It is a process.

All the best. Cheers.

Thank you, I'm gad you found this post of interest.

How is it when I try this it just looks like a load of lines lol

You must become one with the pen... only joking, I just practise a lot.

Your very clever :)

Resteemed ☆☆☆☆☆😎

This cityscape series that you're doing is great! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71