Turning blue with cyanotypes

in #art8 years ago (edited)

As I close my eyes in the heat of the sun
the blue of the sky swims above me
feather clouds float on a pool of blue
as the birds sing so sweetly

Summer is a great time for making cyanotypes, the light is stronger, and it's more consistent for judging light exposure times.

This cyanotype is made by pouring and dripping on a light sensitive solution, a mixture of two chemicals: ammonium iron(III) citrate and potassium ferricyanide, and leaving it to dry. It gives the impression of feathers floating on water.

To create this piece I have used feathers, a stem from a plant and small wooden bird shapes. The blue of the piece is much lighter than the cyanotype above, almost a 'Wedgwood' blue. Part of what makes cyanotypes so tricky but also so beautiful is the difficulty in replicating the exact same shade of blue each time, there are so many potential variables.

The first couple of posts I did on Steemit feature the images below and were about my cyanotype work. They go into more detail about the process I use.

The first post was Cyanotypes, feeling blue?

...and How I create cyanotypes-part-2

If you have an interest in finding out more about cyanotypes, and seeing more examples of my work, then check out the links to the posts Cyanotypes, feeling blue? and How I create cyanotypes-part-2 .

You can follow me @opheliafu

Sort:  

Beautiful cyanotypes. Masterpiece, no doubt!!!

Thank you. I love blue it's so calming!

Great drawings, you have my upvote!

Thank you :D

That is such a cool look! Nice work!

It's actually one of the hardest processes I use because the fail rate is so high, and the preparation is messy and takes so long. But I keep going back to it, I really like the effect.

Yet more interesting amazing stuff from you. I am going to check out these posts!

@opheliafu, sheer beauty! I so much enjoy getting to know you and your work. Love this cyan blue, especially the birds

I'm glad you like it. I have done some drawing and painting over less successful pieces, I may explore that a bit further as they make nice backgrounds to illustrations.

Woooow, it`s stuning @opheliafu great interesting technic!

Thank you! I may do more in the future.

I strongly agree.

These are absolutely lovely pieces. I don't have the nerve to mix any kind of chemical beyond baking anymore...not since I nearly blew up my chemistry class in high school. To this day I can't stand the smell of wintergreen. LOL
But when it comes to art - I'll leave that to the professionals and enjoy their creations. :)

Step back from the chemicals @merej99 , you almost blew up your chemistry class? These chemical are fine if you handle them right.

Very interesting! I want to see more!

It's started to rain in the UK now, but maybe on a sunny day. You have to prepare the paper the night before though as it is light sensitive.
I would like to create a super large one, where I could lie on the fabric and make a huge silhouette.

wow! these are very cool! :D

Thanks, glad you like them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61240.20
ETH 3247.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45