How I create cyanotypes -part 2

in #art8 years ago


Soft steps on woodland ground and the sounds of birds.
Following on from my previous post, I’m showing some more of my cyanotypes.

Process
It’s the same process used to create blue prints. I mix my own light sensitive solution and coat the paper.
The cyanotype is made up of two simple solutions:
• Solution A: 25 grams Ferric ammonium citrate and 100 ml. water.
• Solution B: 10 grams Potassium ferricyanide and 100 ml. water.
UV light will affect the solution but ordinary light bulbs or tungsten light is safe to use. Coat the paper and leave to dry somewhere dark. When ready to print lay objects/acetate on top and expose it to sunlight (see my first Steemit Cyanotype blog https://steemit.com/cyanotypes/@opheliafu/cyanotypes-feeling-blue ).

Inspiration
I am fortunate to live near the forest and this often forms part of the inspiration for my work. I’ll collect things to use for the cyanotypes on my walks; leaves, feathers and flowers. I will often write the verses whilst sitting, and listening, to the sounds of the forest.

Don’t forget to catch my next post!
How I make ceramic heart magnets

Sort:  

So very breathtakingly beautiful!

Thank you Kellywin21. That's very kind.

Really like this seris of Cyanotypes, hardly see this type of work promoted

One of the things I love about your stuff the most is that it introduces me to things I have never heard of or known about. Thank you!

I like to mix it up a bit! Hopefully these might inspire you to make some of your own. I make up my own solutions and use a heavy paper. But, you can buy sun printing paper/fabric (sunography) kits and have a go with your kids.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47