The Red House

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Through the mist

The red house sits on the hillside overlooking the lake. The rolling mists tumble over its roof, some days it shines like a beacon on the hill, other days it is lost beneath the rain. Its crimson paint is starting to flake to reveal the grey wood beneath, patches of rust cling to its screws and bolts like orange lichen.

Inside the house lives a woman, they rarely see her in the village anymore. She chooses not to leave the house, it is her home and her sanctuary. The clock ticks judgmentally as her auburn hair is turning grey, her colours have faded and she has misplaced her paintbrush. It is just her and the red house, a place to watch the waters lap against the shore and the mists roll in.

red.png

This is one of my tiny watercolour paintings, 145 x 91 mm. I allowed the colour to run across the water on the paper in order to form the misty hills. Once the background was dry I added the finer details and darker tones.
sep17.jpg

IMG_20170921_161818-001.jpg

'The Red House' -2017

redhousemed.png

Watercolour on paper

Sort:  

a true beauty this work dear friend @opheliafu congratulations.
I would also live in a place where I would allow myself to go out enjoying the beautiful landscape from the window, with a good cup of coffee in my hand.
Magnifico work dear friend, very delicate, I really like the color matching, thank you very much for sharing this beautiful work
I wish you a beautiful day

I dream of a red house like this overlooking a lake, I may never get one, but I can always paint one!

It is never late to fulfill the dreams dear friend @opheliafu, one never knows what destiny has prepared for us, perhaps this destined to have your house facing the lake.
I wish with all my heart that you can fulfill this dream.

Maybe not anytime soon, but who knows what the future will bring!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @opheliafu to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Beautiful! Bringing imagination into reality, Spreading the beauties of creation using the instrumentality of colors. Great work keep it up @opheliafu

Thank you very much @pechucks!

thanks for sharing
follow me @sairahamdan

Absolutely lovely, dear!

I love watercolor to begin with, and you've captured the misty mood of this setting beautifully. Looking at it, I feel as though I am seeing the scene from across the lake, and my eyes are drawn to that prominent red house like a beacon.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you, I was hesitant at sharing this piece as it is so small and quite simple in its form. But in my mind I had a story (the one i shared) about the red house as I was painting the piece and i thought someone else may also get something, maybe their own story, from looking at the work.

I'm really glad you overcame your hesitation and shared it with us! :D Thanks again.

Beautiful work! Congratulations @opheliafu. Have a great day!

Have a great day too! :D

Beautiful work 😊

Love it! And I must say, you are quite the writer! That was some really good writing! one thing I don't get, though, is why the clock is judgemental. ??

Then clock is representative of the passing of time- 'the clock is ticking- what have you done with your life?'

Ah. I see. I must be really sleepy lol

Now that's art my friend! Great post and best wishes from @kenentertainment!

Wonderful aquarelle! I love your story very much because it forces my imagination to continue it in my mind. Do you know that this is actually a technique of developing thinking and imagination of children and even for elderly people who have suffered strokes?

I like to 'set the scene' in my stories, and the leave the viewer to do the rest! Glad your imagination continued with it.

I know what you mean because I do the same thing with my clients when I tell them therapeutic stories. I think you could also be a very good therapist. :)

Thank you :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68348.76
ETH 2644.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69