STEEMpunk drone: Model number CFS-1a

in #art7 years ago

Something in the air

I made some quick drawings of ideas for STEEMpunk drones today. This particular project is inspired by the idea of the 'Follower' nano drones in the Hardfork Series, and I will be exploring these concepts further at my SteemFest art workshop.

“Follower” is a micro or nano-drone dispatched to follow target
@hardfork-series CFS: Exposing the OverWatchers

I was able to produce this drawing quickly by using a combination of pencil rubbing (frottage) and pencil drawing.

dronepencil2med.png

STEEMpunk drone: Model number CFS-1a

I'll try not to drone on about the process and keep this quick! I took a selection of cogs and arranged them on my board, I then placed the paper over the top and made a pencil rubbing of the cogs. Next, I removed the cogs from beneath the paper and drew in the shape of my drone. I used an eraser to take away the excess pencil marks and to add lighter tones, and I sharpened up the definition of the cogs using a sharp pencil and added darker shadows using 2b and 6b pencils. The final touch was to use an eraser to add the beam of light coming out of the front of the drone.
Octobermed.jpg

Keep your eyes peeled, you never know when the CFS are watching you!



Dream on and Steem on!

Sort:  

nice! @softface enjoys your drawing! following you!

Excellent work I like many gears and do things, since I was very young, always collected gears from my broken toys, now I have a pair of drones that I fly one at home for distraction. I love your art @opheliafu.

Maybe you need to STEEMpunk up your drones a bit! I used to take apart clocks and rebuild them when I was a child- a similar fascination.

Also used to wait for the toys to break down to disassemble them, now I learned a few more things and already repair a little.

Where can i buy one?:)

A STEEMpunk drone? In a dystopian future when we are hacking new technology with Victorian era industrial machinery ;D

Yes, i would like to fly a STEEMpunk drone :) Is it just a blueprint yet?:)

If you check back in a couple of weeks there may be the parts to build your own. I'm drawing out the separate components and then I'll probably post them up as printables. This was more of a quick drawing to work out the components I would need to draw.

That is a great idea, i might be using a 3D printer that @vcelier has and print it out, if he is so kind to borrow it to me :)

They won't be that technical- i'm not an engineer! Print outs to cut up and stick together to make a collage.

You never know, it may fly after all lol It's STEEMpunk for a reason.

Haha I think that is wishful thinking. I meant collage parts like these legs I've drawn:
drone legssml.png

You have good work like this wonderful art its amazing

Very cool, I like your custom pencil!

That way i never loose a pencil ;D

Wait. I understand Steampunk, but why is this considered "steem"punk. Very cool drawing, but was hoping to see the steem logo somewhere.

Because it will be part of the theme for my STEEMfest workshop, and I'm creating it for my STEEMit audience.

O very awesome! Can't wait to see what you come up with next.

That is a good technique, children used this technique with local currencies. beautiful work dear friend @opheliafu very futuristic.
Thank you very much for sharing this beautiful work.
I wish you a great day

Yes, taking rubbings of textured surfaces was once a very popular pass time . I remember going to a Brass rubbing centres as a child during our holidays and spending time making different images from the textured plates.

I have never seen such concept before, buddy this is out of this world,

I always enjoyed the steampunk genre. It's cool you did the gears by doing a rubbing, I would never have guessed, but I suppose it would be a huge pain to draw in all those tiny cogs. Love the little drone :)

I arranged them out on the table ready to draw, then decided to have a go at pencil rubbing them. That was a few hours saved!

incredible artwork... 👌

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67416.66
ETH 3475.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67