Space

in #art8 years ago

Space

The place where we exist

Together

Alone

Sometimes we need our own space

Sometimes we need to find a space to be together

Time builds up in layers

I breath the air in this space

I am alone

You are alone too

But in this space we are together

Can I push through the layers of time?

Is this solitary place the busiest place on earth?


Art and words by @opheliafu . Drawing 70 x 47 cm, charcoal and oil pastel on paper.

About the work:

Originally the drawing was about time and how bodies overlap in the same space over a period of time. It was mapping that movement. As I came to write a poem for the work I started to think about people connecting. Can we connect to loved ones who once shared the same space as us but have now gone? Does that memory remain in that space like an impression in memory foam, and imprint on time? Does time overlap in layers?

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

Time is such an opaque, difficult, yet fascinating thing to try and grasp. I imagine God as outside of yet having access to the entire time-line. I've read any number of interesting "time-travel" books full of wonder and paradox. I think you've visually captured much of those collisions rather nicely, Thanks!😄😇😄

@creatr

Opaque is a nice word to use. To us it is opaque in some ways, but through memories it becomes transparent.

Sometimes when I cross the street I think about how the space I occupy in this location would kill me in a few seconds in the past or future because a car occupied it seconds before or after.

I think this is why I find long-exposure photography of busy areas so interesting.

Very good lady @opheliafu, metaphors invite a reflection of space. Congratulations

Thank you friend.

Your time laps of overlapping images makes me think of Duchamp's, "Dynamism of a Dog." But then my wife and I have a dachshund.

They are cute dogs!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $25.93 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I cannot believe I missed this!
I'm going through my "must follow" bookmarks because I've been so tired the last few days that I haven't been very active.
I love this piece. We are certainly connected.

It's the holidays, you need to have a rest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52438.26
ETH 2303.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.05