Petals in the sunshine

in #art6 years ago (edited)

lavenderpTH.jpg

Painting in the garden

The sun is shining in my part of the world today, so I have sat outside in my garden taking in the sweet scent of the roses and lavender flowers, and doing a spot of watercolor painting. As well as using a paintbrush to create my images I've been using the flowers too.

New folder19.jpg

Using flower petals

New folder16.jpg

The structures of the flowers petals were so beautiful that I decided to create the majority of the image using the flowers themselves. I painted one side of the flower petals with watercolour paint and then pressed them into the paper to create a print of the flowers.
lavenderG.gif

I then used a paintbrush to add some of the finer details such as stems.

New folder18.jpg

I added light background washes to the parts of the paper using watercolour. Behind the image of the rose petals I added a light green with the brush to suggest the leaves of the rose bush.
New folder17.jpg

I'm doing an art workshop soon and I'm going to introduce this technique for one of the activities, it is a simple activity that can achieve some very pretty results.

'Rose Petals'

rosesM.jpg

Watercolour on paper

lilac inkmarks.png

'Lavender Petals'

lavendersM.jpg

Watercolour on paper

If you do give this technique a try post the images below in the comments section!

Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Wow!! is it water colour???wonderful painting!!

Yes, Koh-I-Noor watercolours, so quite inky.

Nice painting

good artworks, Ophelia! Have a nice day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36