One funky feline!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This is a quick post, literally. I'm in the passenger seat of a car making our way down the motorway to a PARTY!

I've made this patterned cat picture today using watercolours on an old book page and paint pen. I coated the paper first with blue watercolour paint and then left this to dry. I put in the main shape lines with a thick paint pen, once dry I built up a design over the top using thinner lines. The red details are a strong contrast against the blue background.

I hope you like this funky feline. I think she is ready to join in the party and throw down some moves!

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

I knew you had some cool cat art!
I came across this, and thought of you.
https://steemit.com/blackcatbrigade/@novaatebatman/blackcatbrigade-art-contest

Haha thank you, funny you thought of me, i've been working on something for you this morning.

Hi there @opheliafu I just saw you mentioned in a post I read from @faitytalelife so I thought I'd check out your blog. I saw this cat and had to read, nice story and a cool cat, for some reason it felt good to read the word motorway, instead of freeway, I live on the other side of the pond these days, South America but they still say freeway. Anyway it seems to be an English morning for me today, Big Smiles :D Thanks for sharing. Upvoted and followed

A real source of imagination and inspiration, beautiful work the feline represented, congratulations lady @opheliafu for another magnificent work

Thank you. A bit of a cat theme on my blog this week!

Enjoy the party!!!! Cats and Ophelia colours, two of my favourite things!!

Whiskers on kittens, cream coloured ponies and crisp apple strudels. Just call me Julie Andrews.

I like that you paint in books...I've seen some do this in their bibles....maybe the paper is different in a book - ie no onion skin paper that would need gesso prior to painting.....you use color in a very beautiful way....

Thank you, I do enjoy colour. Do you paint on onion skin paper then? If I use watercolour then the paper is still pretty absorbent, If I give it a coat of acrylic then the next layer of paint sits on top of the acrylic.

No, I don't paint - I gave it a try when I saw the bible art - I found that it didn't work like the instructions said. I tried first without using gesso and the paper was too absorbent and later when it dried the paper was brittle. The gesso caused the paint and ink to bead. So that's why I wondered how your work succeeded - and thought that other paper (non onion skin) would work better - I have a ton of old books ....maybe I'll try in one of them.

Have fun at the party!
I've been eyeballing some of my old books...and still can't bring myself to use them for art projects, even if many of them had some water damage. LOL I'm sure I'll get over that eventually. :D

Go to a charity/thrift shop and find an book that you wouldn't want to read- like a bad romantic novel.

Doing this in the car does not surprise me!! I've seen you do it on a boat, in a hotel lobby, on the yoga floor and more. You amaze me!!!

Do you feel inspired to come out again to play?
https://steemit.com/art/@everlove/artist-s-eye-your-invitation-to-collaborate-whatever-your-expression-bring-it-on

I do feel inspired but have a crazy work load at the moment, so I'll see if I can juggle a bit.

We all shall see!!! Blessed to share with you!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.54 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 19 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I forgot to ask, as the name Deverax rings a bell for some reason, what was the book you improved?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62931.02
ETH 3031.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64