My Sketchbook Travels -Marrakech Part 2

in #art7 years ago

stravels cover 2.jpg

With the sun already streaming into the courtyard I grabbed my painting bag and headed out of the riad and onto the already busy alleyways of the medina. I’ve always enjoyed exploring cities early in the morning, before most tourists have had their breakfast, and Marrakech was no exception.

My destination for that morning’s drawing session was the Jardin Majorelle, a favourite place of mine when in this city. I stopped off at a road side cafe for fresh baghrirs, which are Moroccan pancakes, and coffee. Sitting on the plastic chairs eating breakfast and listening to the sound of moped engines and the beeping of horns, the early morning air was refreshing. Today was going to be another hot one though, so it was time to seek some shade in a garden oasis.

jardin 8.jpg

Another visit to this beautiful garden, this time I was focusing on the colourful pots that lined the pathways. The bright citrus oranges and yellows of the pots shone out against the ‘Majorelle blue’ of the walls. The tall plants provided dappled shade allowing balls of light to dance across the blush pathways.

10399102_130206821923_2294274_n.jpg

I continued to follow the beacons of colour that lined the path; I came to three yellow pots sitting under ornate metal window frames. The red earth tones of the floor, and soft coloured walls were glistening with sunlight.

10399102_130210806923_7793860_n.jpg

I sat on a bench opposite the bright yellow pots, the sun streaming down onto my sketchbook.

28810_397436346923_2577097_n.jpg

jardin 3.jpg

Following the path around the garden I stopped to take in the sound of trickling water . I made a sketch of two orange pots that where sat next to a pool of darting orange fish. Tall bamboos peered over the wall, reflecting in the surface of the water. I could feel the Moroccan sun on my neck, it was time to head to the Café for some shade and refreshment.

28810_397436356923_545422_n.jpg

In this series I'm taking you on a journey to explore the stories behind my paintings and photographs, and showing you the places that have inspired my art. I will be revisiting previous work and revealing some pieces you may not have seen before.

Join me on another adventure soon.

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

I would love to visit there one day myself. Such depth of colour. Lovely!

Oh you would love it! I think we have similar tastes.

Very beautiful lady @opheliafu, excellent work as always.

Your comments are always appreciated, thank you.

It's so interesting to compare your interpretation of this beautiful garden with the photo-essays by other folks here on Steemit, including a couple that are on the @gardening-trail. One thing really stood out to me in all these posts, yours included -- for dry regions, make a strong impression by planting in pots for visual interest with different shapes and colors. In both of your art-posts about Jardin Majorelle, you sure keyed in on the colorful pots, the bright walls, and the interplay of shadow and light. The plants enhance all of it, but the structures are as important as the plants. For anyone interested, here are some photo presentations -

Visting Majorelle and Last impressions of Majorelle by @koskl
Welcome to Majorelle by @achim86

Thank you for those link, it's interesting to see other viewpoints of the same place. I have some nice photographs and sketches of the cacti there too.

You're welcome. It was interesting to me that 3 people here on Steemit have been inspired to post about this garden. It must be something to see in person!

It is beautiful. I enjoyed the colors the sun and the shade created. Thanks @opheliafu

A little bit of paradise.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.00 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50