Mischievous sprites

in #art7 years ago

spritesthumb.png

The tiny footsteps of mischief

Most sprites are well behaved, good-tempered little creatures. Occasionally, you get a few sprites who break the rules, the naughty sprites! You will have come across the work of these naughty sprites, even if you were unaware of the culprits.

Allow me to introduce you to the rogues in Prince Thorn's gang of mischievous sprites.


spritetwins.png

Brob and Bilbert, these two like to chase around the garden shaking down leaves, knocking off the fruit from trees and punching holes in soft fruit and vegetables. The wind and slugs are often wrongly given the blame for the thuggish actions of these two sprites.

spitetwo.png

Kranket, a fast sprite with the power to conceal items beneath her cloak. She is very fond of hiding and moving keys, she's not fussy which type of key she'll hide house keys or car keys. Attracted to metal items Kranket is often responsible for removing screws and nuts from furniture. If you find a solitary nut or screw on the floor with no idea of where it came from that will be the work of Kranket.

spritefour.png

Higgledy, he likes to play tricks by hiding something that you are using. Once you have turned a room upside down looking for the object Higgledy will quietly place the item back in its original position.
sprite three.png

Dusteila, an irritating sprite who places small particles of dust in people eyes. She is responsible for watery, itchy eyes on summer days, she hides in flowers and blows pollen at the eyes of anyone who passes her by.

spriteprincess.png

Princess Efalle, she can momentarily steal your thoughts. Have you ever found yourself walking into a room to get something and then forgetting what it was you went in for? This is the work of Princess Efalle. She enjoys watching people running up and down stairs all day, forgetting why then went up the stairs in the first place. Once back downstairs Princess Efalle gives them back their thoughts, only to watch then run back up the stairs again. She is a powerful and mischievous sprite.
spriteprince.png

Prince Thorn, responsible for scratches and splinters, nicks and cuts. He sharpens the thorn points on brambles and roses, and then hides them behind leaves. He carves the splinters into wood, leaving them set as traps for the fingers of unexpecting victims.

Most sprites are very well behaved, but beware the naughty ones!

sprites.png

A sprite is a supernatural entity. They are often depicted as fairy-like creatures or as an ethereal entity.
The word "sprite" is derived from the Latin "spiritus" (spirit), via the French "espirit" Variations on the term include "spright" and the Celtic "spriggan". The term is chiefly used in regard to elves and fairies in European folklore, and in modern English is rarely used in reference to spirits.
Source Wikipedia

Sort:  

Today I've met Brob and Bilbert

(though I didn't know their name....thanks much Ophelia ) during my walk in the woods...Well, I saw mostly their holes in the fruits and the leaves in fact ;-)

And I love to know I have to call Kranket for my Keys,

I think it's easier to talk directly to the concerned sprite than to turn around the house after your key...

Speaking of Princess Efalle, she often visits me,

I can swear it, she took a lot of my thoughts these last days, hope she will make good use of it ^_^

grimacefleur.png

Why thank you much for these useful sprites info Ophelia !! ^_^

Sometimes it is good to put names to life's little annoyances!

Good work but I prefer "The House at the Top of the Hill". That out of all your paintings I love the most!

Interesting, @opheliafu
I like how the figures float in the space.

It's a great art! I love it so much, and i enjoy these wonderful painting.

Wow, so simple, yet so beautifful

as mysterious and fanciful as A Midsummer Night's Dream -lovely!

Princess Efalle and I are apparently already acquainted... I just didn't realize it!

Words cannot express how much I enjoyed this. Kranket seems to have done much to me. And mischievous Effale too has a penchant for making me look foolish all the time. Walking to and fro the room. Thanks for sharing this beautiful piece @opheliafu

Naughty Kranket and Efalle! I'm sure one day they will learn the error of their ways.

No idea why your works still spring up memories of my childhood, but they do. This one reminded me of Disney's " Hercules ", specifically of three characters, Hades, greek god of the underworld (prince thorn reminded me of this one, hades sometimes steps out of his calm, cynical demeanor and throws a hot, fiery tantrum), pain and panic, who are two of his minions.

Your works are awesome, keep it up!

I know that film! Yes, I suppose there is a hint of mythology and magical mischief here!

Haha, yes! though when i think about it deeply i don't quite know what really remind it me of it, it just did, then again, that's what art does isn't it ?

Congratulations @opheliafu! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80