Lilies

in #art7 years ago

liliesthumb.png

A wash of colour

Today's drawing is of lilies, you may have see my recent post Pink Lily, an ink and watercolour sketch in which I drew a single lily flower.

For this piece I wanted to experiment with the background colours. I started by applying water to the paper, getting the paper quite wet. I then applied watercolours, allowing the watercolours to bleed into each other across the wet paper.

liliesprocess.png

Once the watercolours were dry I applied black drawing ink with a dip pen to suggest the lines of the petals and leaves. I kept the style quite loose, allowing a simple flow to the lines through the direction and pressure of the pen.

lilies board.png

'Lilies' -2017

lilies.png

Watercolours and ink on paper

lilies2vase.png

Have a great day!

opheliafulogo.png

Sort:  

Lilies! Very beautiful-- so "fresh" looking! If those are the "stargazers" I expect you also had a lovely scent experience while painting... lovely piece of work.

I think they may be stargazers, and yes a wonderful scent.

The work of this lily is also wonderful.Thank you for a great post every time:)

A pleasure @yoshiko, your lilies in glass are beautiful too!
https://steemit.com/japanese/@yoshiko/my-stained-glass-works-17

UPVOTED.
very good.
I would be happy if you like to follow me and give your opinion about my posts.
Thanks.

My fav flower ;)

One of mine too!

The flow is great and the colors look great too, thanks for sharing, upped. Keep it up.
In addition to my comment, and in support of your fight against spam here, I posted about the issue on my blog post. Feel free to check it out..wish you a blessed weekend.

Very nice)) I would like this picture)))) You have golden hands)))

Slightly pollen yellow hands today! I cut the pollen out from my lilies so they wouldn't stain the table- just stained me instead!

Oh no. Forgive))) In Ukraine, they say "golden hands" when a person is talented)))) This is the term))) You have talent)))

Oh i got that meaning, it was very kind thank you

I love watercolor. It is so fresh :) Do you have to mix the color to match the real life flower? I was also surprised that ink is applied after water color, for some reason i was always thinking that first you draw and then fill in with the colors :) P.S. Just just have noticed that last two letters of you initials give a second thought. Tell men it's not what i am thinking. As it might be just extremely hot weather and little sleep :) Cheers!

Yes I mix the colours, but i deliberately kept the green of the leaves lighter, in reality it is darker but that colour combination did work for this piece. I often draw with inks then add the watercolour, but today i wanted to experiment a bit.
Not sure what you mean about by name!

Wow amazing artwork @opheliafu
Appreciates your your and effort
Keep on steeming
Thanks

Thank you :D
Steem On @dinsha !

Very beautiful and light. Like the different approach to add the lines in the second step!

I thought I'd do things a different way today :D

excellent idea :-) Love it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61