Lavender City

in #art7 years ago

lavenderthumb.png

Lavender hues


I was inspired by the testing paper from my post yesterday Crocosmia and Lavender, it had a multitude of paint strokes in purple and blue lavender hues. There is something quite magical about a purple and pink sky, and the way a city looks at sunset or in the early morning light.
lavendertest.png

I started off this piece by building up strokes of purple and blue watercolours. I tried to match the colours to the purple and blue hues of the lavender I had picked from my garden. I liked the idea of using a natural colour palette to paint a cityscape, taking my colour inspiration from nature to paint an urban scene!
lavendercityone.png


lavendercityb.gif

I allowed some of the paint layers to dry before adding more fine strokes of colour, building up the intensity of the line.
lavendercitytwo.png


For the final touch and definition I added more lines and hatching using black and white drawing pens.

'Lavender City'- 2017

lavender city.png

Watercolour and pen on paper

Have a great day!

opheliafulogo.png

Sort:  

I'm a sucker for brushstrokes, so I would be remiss if I didn't comment on this! This looks so good! I really like how the colors blended. It really gave off that urban vibe, definitely sophisticated. The lines were on point as well. I feel like the rigidity really elevated this piece. Great work!

It is interesting how the colours feel urban despite their starting point being the garden. Thank you for your comments on the properties of the lines, you are right about the rigidity- The contrast between the soft brush strokes and the straight black lines.

This reminds me of one of those utopian societies in Star Trek that are super built up and industrial but also there's no poverty or hunger and everyone lives at peace. Maybe purple is just calming to me lol- either way I enjoyed very much <3

What a beautiful thought.
After a rain storm tonight the sky was pink, outside everything was bathed in a pink light. No need for rose coloured spectacles!

That's the best, I love when nature decided to put on a show like that

I love the simplicity in the line work and for color choice; each is so intentional, so foundational to the piece as a whole. Watercolor is so challenging to work with, and having that level of precision shows a notable level of mastery on your end. Lovely work and looking forward to more!

That is a wonderful review of this piece, thank you so much for this comment @rachelburger.

great picture

I am so falling in love with this water colour work. Upvoted it and I'm going to resteem it

Art is not a bad thing to give your heart to!

Woow amazing, I salute with your painting, your talent is amazing, success continues for you.

Thank you very much!

Beautiful! What was your favourite moment when you were painting the city? Do you have more ideas for later works?

Sitting in the sunshine when I was drawing :D

Love your idea of melting the nature and urban in this painting... ! ;-) Nature is so inspiring in its color...
Do you enjoy more the movement of painting straight lines or curvy ones ? ^_^

Oooh difficult question- i think maybe curvy.
Actually i think it depends if I'm sat down or painting standing up.
;D

It has a Nicolas de Stael's feeling... Nice!

Today a skyline... Tomorrow a Metropolis? Keep up the creativity!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52