Crocosmia and Lavender

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Summer colours

Today's drawing is of crocosmia and lavender flowers, their summer colours have found their way on to my drawing board. This is an orange and yellow variety of crocosmia, a delicate alternative to the well know red variety called 'Lucifer'.

orangeprocess.jpg

Crocosmia

They are commonly known in the United States as coppertips or falling stars, and in the United Kingdom as montbretia. Other names, for hybrids and cultivars, include antholyza, and curtonus. The genus name is derived from the Greek words krokos, meaning "saffron", and osme, meaning "odor" – from the dried leaves emitting a strong smell like that of saffron (a spice derived from Crocus – another genus belonging to the Iridaceae) – when immersed in hot water.
Source Wikipedia

orangetwo.png

The design was drawn out with black drawing ink using a dip pen over paper that already had bold watercolour strokes applied to it.

orangethree.png

orangefour.png

I added colour by building up layers of watercolours. My palette for this painting consisted of vivid yellows, and soft purples and greens. I used accents of a red toned orange to make the crocosmia a focal point in this piece .
orangefoura.png

'Crocosmia and Lavender'

orangeboard.png

Have a great day!

opheliafulogo.png

Sort:  

I have lavender in my garden and I'm sure one of my grandparents had the other flower in theirs...

Shame I can't ask them <3

Mia, our granddaughter knows lavender. I've taught her how to recognise the plant from the smell alone :)

I've taken some cuttings to grow a few more - i think there is always space for a bit more lavender in the garden.

Lavender by the garden gate...

Practical Magic ;)

They are lovely @opheliafu, and isn't it funny the subtle differences between the American and UK English language. You're an awesome artist by the way. :-)

I prefer the American versions of the names, so pretty!

That crocosmia is a pretty thing. I love the description of it's scent. I will have to go source some and get it growing in my garden!

You can pick them up at most garden centres, I have a couple of different varieties. They pretty much look after themselves.

Looking after themselves is good. I will be abke to remember their name no bother, it is very distinctive!

your summer colors work looks great ...selection of colors is very good. Keep it up

Ah yes, your eye for color is commendable.

Very nice. Not easy to take a picture of your hand painting in the lines. LOL

I take multiple shots- i only show you the best ones!

You are very talented I must say. Those paintings are very nice. Have a great day.

just beautiful! I love your style :-)

Very pretty...I love the contrast of purple and orange!

Very pretty-- the orange and lavender shades are superb together; such a nice contrast.

@opheliafu your post really talks story . Those lavender and crocosmia are very pretty flowers and so as your painting . :)

There are so many photos in this post of yours.

I love it.

Have a nice nite Miss O.

I guess there it is technically morning anyways

(:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49