Landscape Blocks

in #art6 years ago

landscapeblocksTH.png

Experiments with ink

Experimentation with materials is an important part of my practice as an artist, I will often dedicate time during my week to trying out new materials or techniques. Recently I've been using a lot of black ink while working on the illustrations for Doug Karr's novel Dwelling, I wanted to see how I could take that use of black ink into some of my paintings.

I'm working on a new series of work that starts with the application of inks to create monochrome surfaces of pattern, texture and line. Today, I'm sharing with you the first image in that series 'Landscape Blocks'.

May 201815.jpg

I started the process by selecting a piece of paper that already had several ink marks and splatters across it, an off-cut from a previous project.
lblocks1ink.gif

After masking off 3 areas I began applying black ink to the image, using a selection of mark making and bold line.

May 201816.jpg

Some of the marks on the paper were created by first applying water to the page and then floating small amounts of ink across the water.
lblocks2ink.gif

Once the water and inks were dry the masking tape was removed to reveal areas of white paper.

Lblocksboard.png

'Landscape Blocks'

landblocksLrg.png

Ink on paper


Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Phenomenal again! I can tell from your work that you've really enjoy it, and that is the most important thing. Keep up your great work ;)

I do enjoy experimentation with materials- keeps the work fresh, I'd be a
bit bored doing the same old thing everyday.

I use to do a lot of hard edge painting, I would often spend more time putting down tape than spreading the paint.

That is true in quite a few of the illustrations I've been doing recently- a lot of time in the preparation.

Wow, very impressive !! You actually inspired me to use ink more often :) !! Keep it up

Excellent- it is a very adaptable medium.

beautifull painting....

Amazing landscape lnk in paper. Amazing looking wih this art fun

good luck, and excellent art dear

Good good good post your

You have a great experience in art that's really good job you doing really look amazing

I really like the work you do to find our improvement techniques for your works, that dedication makes you a very creative and enthusiastic professional
I wish you a beautiful night dear friend @opheliafu

This is awesomeness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63