I am addicted to little yellow pieces of paper.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Today I'm sharing with you... a Post-It note (stay with me on this one)!

Currently I'm working to a deadline, I need to get my mind off SteemFest (only temporarily) and back on to preparing work for an art stall tomorrow. All my cyanotypes are framed and ready to go but I'm putting together a few drawings to sell too.

The issue comes when I start to paint. If I'm painting for myself there is no problem. However, add in the factor of selling work then I'm considering the audience, the time spent per piece against price and suddenly the natural flow of creativity is hindered. This is where I need to refocus my mind. This is where I write myself little notes and stick them around my workspace.

I am a secret Post-It note addict!

So what does this little note mean?

I'm telling myself, in the strictest of voices, to loosen up.

'Don't strive for perfection, work with the materials and see how the piece evolves. Don't be afraid to take risks, try to use the materials in a different way. If you don't push the boundaries then your work will not progress. YOU will not progress. Have fun, let that fun show in your work.'

Sabotage or collaboration?

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Is this true about other areas of our lives? Let me know in the comments section.

Sort:  

Aw! Steemit cat was a good helper!
One of the things I've learned from you is to just go with it. I've had my mistakes too and they've become some of my favorite pieces because of it!

Don't be afraid to take risks, try to use the materials in a different way. If you don't push the boundaries then your work will not progress.

exactly :)

happy little accidents.

I have many of those!

ahh, the wisdom of Bob Ross

Thank you, I needed this little reminder right now. I was getting way to caught up on where i thought the piece im working on should be going.

You are a fan of writing yourself notes too- I remembered that when I was finishing off this post.
Maybe we could 'post-it' motivational notes randomly to each others blogs? They don't have to be connected wih the blog theme (which would confuse everyone else who is commenting).

that sounds like a pretty good idea, although mine just tend to be pretty incoherent word chains

Well I think my note is grammatically incorrect, but would correcting my own grammar on notes to myself be a step too far?

i never do lol, so long as they do the job it's all good.

Love the quote on the final Post-it note!

It's the same as the 1st but has had the @opheliafu messy paint treatment, so it takes on a bit more meaning :D

That looks a great collaboration!!!

You should see my desk in work, it's festooned with post-it's. I use them instead of a short term memory!

Yes, I have no short term memory just post-it notes and scribble on my hand.

The Mrs. is hopelessly addicted to post-its, who woulda thunk a tiny notepad would be the huge success it is?

They are amazing little things, especially if you suck at remembering things!

This is so true for edible weeds in your garden or yard. People get so focused on what a 'well-kept lawn' looks like. Have a more wild yard, with weeds and garden escape artists, and you can eat high-quality, tasty, fresh food for free.

You would like my lawn at the moment- weeds everywhere!

I probably would like your lawn. I ate 25 different weeds in a salad yesterday. It was delicious! When I chopped everything up, it smelled like a fresh-mowed lawn, lol, but it was so, so tasty!

I'm relieved to see someone else shares this addiction!!

http://hitheryon.com/6000-STICKY-NOTES

Wow! From such a small pile of post it notes you covered so much!
My favourite quote which could be applied in the blogging world:
'What began as an individual’s sense of ego, was eventually forced to communicate with surrounding elements as they continued to grow within the pool. Each sense of ego slowly became adopted within a larger context, merging into a landscape similar to that of a superego'

Fantastic! What a great philosophy! Thanks for sharing @opheliafu and I wish you great success with your art stall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51367.14
ETH 2266.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01