Experiments in ink- blue rowan leaf

in #art8 years ago (edited)

A mixed media rowan leaf print using inks and paint pen.

The process:

I painted my background first with inks, next I painted a leaf with inks and made a print on the paper. I repeated this process to created two layers of colour, blue and violet. Once dry I developed the print further with paint pen, bringing out the shape of the leaf and details like veins with violet and white.

The details:

Outcome

This image was taken from a large mixed media sample piece that I created using coloured Inks on paper with different leaf and feather prints. I have also used salt and wax in some areas. You can see another example of work in this series from my post Experiments in ink- white rowan leaf.

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

https://s25.postimg.org/x0yxbs6tb/dreamlink_FB.jpg

Sort:  

It is quite amazing how adding the details with the paint pen really lift out the design. Very pretty colours too.

Yes. This one one of my initial 'rejects' from the printing process. However, after years of printing (not just leaf printing lol) I have learnt that the 'rejects' make the most beautiful mixed media pieces.

'rejects' make the most beautiful mixed media pieces.

I'm going to remember this! Thanks for sharing your experience.

I think I could probably apply that comment, at times, to myself too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66201.27
ETH 3279.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70