Black water

in #art8 years ago

They say oil and water don't mix, but I think they do! I have a little bit of an obsession with trying to capture the essence of water with oil paint.

I think what first generated this interest is my visit to Monet's garden in Giverny, France. As many of my followers know, I like gardens and I like painting. So Giverny was a little piece of heaven for me. On my return I spent weeks in my studio painting. I shared some of this work in my post 'Are you ready to get oily?'. Including the painting below.

As my work has progressed I've started to look at the roles of light and reflections on the colour and shades of water. The colours that are reflected back at us are not always what we think water should look like. This is what I enjoy about painting, letting go of the preconceived ideas, going where the paint tells you and following that inner voice.

I took the camera out this week and tried to capture the water how I sometimes see it when I am painting. I don't draw or paint from photographs, but I sometimes use them as reference or as inspiration. My photograph (it is blurry- not your eyes!) of 'black water', not exactly how I see it with my own eyes, but I'm trying to give you a bit of an idea!

Can you see why I use the zesty green and blue in my painting when you look at this photograph?

My 'Black Water' oil painting on canvas.

Details:

Follow me @opheliafu

Sort:  

Great work, love the layers and texture

really beautiful and I love the way you wrapped the painting around the sides of the canvas.

I do that with all my canvas paintings, that way you don't have a white edge when it's on the wall. I just realised with this one that I should probably start taking a picture of the sides too.

I usually paint my borders black but have done wrap arounds too, for galleries i always paint them black though, just my preference 😊

Yes, I don't like a naked border.

Thats the great thing about canvas painting is how it changes as you step back. The very first picture is amazing and its when you see it close up and the strokes that go into it you realise even more so how talented the artist (you :O)) is when you look at it from a distance. Smashing stuff!

Ta very much @meesterboom! I like the green speckles on the canvas when you look up close.

Me too, I like everything about it!

one of my favourite artist is Monet - my 2 favourites are Woman with a parasol and The Beach at Sainte-Adresse - just love the colours and content. Greens and blues are good colours love them as they remind me of the beach/sea-

I like his Water Lilies series. Really rich use of paint.

Very nice. I would love to see a video of you working

I'm just running off now to film my next video, so you will see one soon!

Wow, I can only dream at having half your talent... I really enjoy your posts !

That super kind of you to say @themagus .

Beautiful and I want to see more!

I'm working on it ;D

Nice, but where is steemit cat? :)

She's not allowed near oils.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69