Are you ready to get oily?

in #art8 years ago

I'm very excited to have reached over a hundred followers on Steemit!

Most people will know me for my doodle videos, or quirky and colourful watercolour pieces. I enjoy making my Steeemit art pieces, Steemart! But I thought I would also give you a little insight into the other style of painting that I work in.

A few examples of the the type of paintings I do in oils.

I paint in layers, so a painting can take several weeks to complete.

Some combine mixed media, such as digital transfer prints, ironed plastics and stitch.

Obviously, as I am on the move at the moment and not in my studio I'm not currently painting in oils, but I hope to get back to them soon! I love the smell of oil paint :D

Follow me @opheliafu

Sort:  

All very nice. I really like the first one.

Thank you, that is also one on my favourites!

A beautiful reason to paint a beautiful picture! Fantastic job!

Thank you for you kind words @rea

Beautiful paintings, I like the fruit green

Sap green is my favourite colour, i'm a big fan of green and blue, can you tell?!

What can I tell you? The color associated with the five elements.

@ opheliafu great to see a fellow artist on here! I love the stitching effect on the painting, I would never have thought to do that before, but what a great texture. I just recently started painting with oils and I love them!!! their creamy consistency is just amazing, I really enjoy watercolours too, but oils have won over my heart! I would love if you would check out my posts about my art and provide your feedback, its always great to connect with other artists :)

You can't see it so well on that picture but I also do a loose stitch to add texture too- let the looped threads hang down on the canvas.

I'm now following your work, it's amazing! Bit of advice, (if that's ok?) make sure it's clear in the title that it's your work (latest post), at first i thought it was an artist you like... When I watched the video I realised it was you. I wouldn't want you to miss out on votes!

thats great advice! thanks so much @opheliafu I really appreciate that! I'm still trying to get a hang of this steemit thing so I appreciate all feedback :)

Your work always amazes me. There is something magical about the smell of oil paint, I hope your back in a studio soon.

Thank you @phoenixmaid , it's a beautiful smell to a painter!

Following!
Beautiful art :)

Amazing works, so airy and light. A very interesting technique. Thank you, its joy to my eyes.

Thank you @nekromarinist . I like to use a large flat brush and build up lots of layers of colour (drying in between layers) I think this is probably what makes it 'airy and light' !

Absolutely stunning as always!
I love how you include the various stages showing us the progression of your pieces. I can't wait to see more!

Thanks @sykochica, I always appreciate your comments.

@opheliafu Wow I'm blown away with how talented you are!

Luckily for you I've tied some string to you feet, so you won't blow away too far, just float like a kite.

Of course! Art by sykochica equates to bad stick figures which makes it easier to appreciate the talent of others.

Ah, the art of paint. I think one day I will give it a try. My last venture was finger painting with my kids, and that was about 16 years ago. LOL But honestly, as much as I'd love to try it, I see the world through my camera lens and through words. Maybe I should stick with what I know?

No, always try something new. Why not have a go at doodling with paint, take your brush (or pen) for a walk and see where it goes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59238.58
ETH 3176.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45