Autumnal Alstroemerias

in #art7 years ago

redflowersthumb.jpg

A touch of red

Pretty Alstroemerias, also known as the Peruvian lily or lily of the Incas are adding a touch of red to my garden pots at this time of year. They seem to be pretty hardy plants in my garden, surviving the heavy frosts and direct sunshine to come up flowering time after time.

AugSep20175.jpg

The most popular and showy hybrids commonly grown today result from crosses between species from Chile (winter-growing) with species from Brazil (summer-growing). This strategy has overcome the florists' problem of seasonal dormancy and resulted in plants that are evergreen, or nearly so, and flower for most of the year.

Source Wikipedia

AugSep20174.jpg

The shapes of the petals and leaves are loosely painted in watercolours.

AugSep20176.jpg

Acrylic paint is used to build up layers of colour and details onto the flowers, a contrast in style to the background. I added more reds and oranges to the flowers and toned down the yellow in order to give the picture a more autumnal look.

'Autumnal Alstroemerias' -2017


redfinalsml.jpg

Watercolours and acrylic paint on paper

Have a great day!

Sort:  

It is a very well drawn picture.
The bee might come

This is a very beautiful flower, red color mixed with yellow makes our eyes fresh again, this flower is always beautiful when viewed more deeply,

I am amazed with this @pheliafu flower, for me this eye medicine after tired, long in front of the laptop, then my eyes need to see a bright color like your flower, thank you for sharing..

I'm happy my work provided some colour therapy for your tired eyes- I hope they feel a little more refreshed today!

It's a very good job to benefit others, maybe not only do I receive intercession, other friends who join in steemit and who follow @pheliafu are also very happy with this beautiful piece and benefit

awesome

a great art, you are a professional painter, I admire your paintings, I will try to imitate you, I want to see, if my fingers can be as beautiful as your fingers in painting.

My fingers are usually stained with coloured inks :D

great artwork ! :)
I'm new on steemit, can't wait to see more of your artworks

These flowers are lovely as is your picture, I'll have to have a look for these :)

They are very easy to grow! Mine came a long in some ground soil I had from a neighbour- popped up a few months later.

I will check them out, making a note for my next shopping trip :)

great artwork ! :)
I'm new on steemit, can't wait to see more of your artworks

Welcome to Steemit!

A wonderful species of an horticultural plant you have in your garden.

I like your painting and the colour. I am relating it to red apple(red colour) and green apple (green colour). The two colours in your picture look like the two different types of apple.

Loving the paintings and glad yours in the garden have stayed strong! Keep it up.

Thanks, though the rest of the garden is looking a bit shabby this time of year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61