Angel, star or fairy?

in #art7 years ago

Christmas is full of important decisions to make. Many family battles have taken place over where to have Christmas dinner. Do you have Christmas pudding or trifle? Do you cracker or not cracker? I'm definitely crackers. There is one Christmas mountain that must be conquered though, and that is the top of the Christmas tree.

Do you have a star or an angel?

A star or an angel are both acceptable choices. In the UK the star is winning this particular battle with angels going out of trend.

The Star

The star represents the Star of Bethlehem. This appeared over Bethlehem to show the birth place of Jesus and to guide the Wise Men. An interesting twist is the latest revelation that the star may have not been a star at all but a rare planetary alignment. An alignment with the the sun, Jupiter, the moon, and Saturn positioned in the constellation of Aries. How amazing!

The Angel

Angels are messengers, in fact the name is derived from the Hebrew and Greek words for messenger, and they appear throughout the Christmas story. The Angel Gabriel visited Mary to tell her she would become the mother of Jesus, an angel also visited Joseph too in a dream. It was an angel that told the shepherds out in the fields about the birth of Jesus, accompanied by a heavenly host of singing angels. I remember playing one of those singing angels in the school nativity! So a beautiful angel on your tree is also a wonderful choice.

The fairy

The fairy is not part of the Christmas story. It belongs on a Christmas tree as much as a flying unicorn. However, if you want to have a fairy and flying unicorn on your tree make sure you also have plenty of tinsel and glitter too. Just have fun decorating your tree and feel free to share your pictures too!

I currently have a star adorning my tree, but I'm very tempted to make an angel for the top.

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

Hmm..never thought of a unicorn on the tree.

Are you thinking of having one now?

:) I don't think so.

Lol, as soon as I read unicorn I thought hmmm perhaps!!!!

You could always glue a horn (fusilli pasta) to a my little pony.

Hmm, well I could but actually I am quite a dab hand at making 'unicorn like' my little pony's!! :0)

Hi @opheliafu
Beautiful tree.
I haven't put up my tree yet, will do soon, I normally have an angel on top.

Angels are gorgeous, I did a week of angel drawings a couple of weeks ago. I really need to make one for my tree this year.

Beautiful tree @opheliafu! :D

in my country star or angel is not common decoratives to the pine thee :)

some twisted spears and so often used :)

Sounds a bit sharp! No drinking near the tree.

no cats near the tree too :)

Tell me about it.

I always had an angel :)

I thought you might! You know I think of you every time I see an image of an angel now.

Ahh that's so sweet thank you, :)

Beautiful work lady @opheliafu congratulations
thanks for sharing

Thank you, I'm looking forward to your Christmas post!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.46 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 04 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Been away for a bit--and grateful to return to a couple more of your beautiful creations. I think star is the more common tradition, but I believe in angels, so I've chosen angels. Though I don't put up a tree anymore, if I did--I may now opt for the unicorn! Thanks for sharing, @opheliafu. Grateful to see you again!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66