Christmas tree traditions

in #art8 years ago

A very short history of the Christmas tree

During the pagan winter solstice evergreen branches were brought into the home.

As Christianity grew in Europe the tradition was integrated into the Christian festivities, with medieval German Christians placing apples on to pine trees in their homes. These 'Paradise trees' represented the Garden of Eden. The trees stayed up during Christmas and over time became decorated with more than just apples.

During the Victorian era popularity for the Christmas tree grew in Britain, helped by Queen Victoria's German husband. In 1846 an illustration in the London News showed Queen Victoria and Prince Albert with their children stood around a Christmas tree.

My Christmas tree traditions

December the 1st is the day to put up the Christmas tree in our house. The festivities begin with the baking of Christmas cookies. Heaps of cinnamon, mixed spices and ginger go into the mix. These are eaten as an accompaniment to a mug of hot chocolate while decorating the Christmas tree.

I have a selection of decorations, some handmade and others with sentimental value.

Some of the decorations are very old. These belonged to my grand-aunt, I like the vintage beer bottle and glass the best.

Many of the decorations I have made myself, such as the fabric hanging and the ceramic stars. The birds and glass ‘baubles’ came from my wedding reception tables, the baubles are in fact name holders!

Once upon a time I would give myself each year a design and colour theme for the tree. One year it was peacocks, and the colours green and purple. Another year it was tartans and the colour red. These days I like as much colour as possible, but more importantly I like to decorate my tree with memories.

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

I love hearing how ancient traditions started. I remember learning this years ago when I researched it, great reminder. Thanks for sharing.

Your tree looks smashing,. I like the beer bottle best too!

My Dear @opheliafu,

Thank you so very much for sharing:

  • Your beautiful art
  • The animated GIFs of you "in action!" Fascinating!
  • The history lesson
  • Your very artistic family traditions

You are inspiring!

Thank you so much. I enjoyed your latest post very much, you have a new follower!

THANK YOU! - I am blessed and honored! ;)

A lovely Christmas tree!

Thank you. I saw some paintings when I was in Hong Kong of pine trees. I was trying to go for a similar brush technique.

Beautiful tree!!! :) Lovely work @opheliafu

Excellent post my friend @opheliafu, thank you very much for this beautiful story, did not know these origins.
In Argentina the Christmas tree is harvested on December 8, the day of commemoration of the Virgin Mary.
Beautiful work as always and beautiful decorations of your little tree congratulations

I find the different traditions of Christmas fascinating. I'm interested to find out more about the Christmas traditions in Argentina.

On December 8th I will post with the old constumbres, and nowadays do not use them, I was lucky last year to find a place that matenian customs.

I look forward to reading about these customs!

Looks gorgeous , very pretty :)

Thank you. Have you put your tree up yet?

No, I'm really naughty we don't put a tree up anymore, girls are grown up plus when there all here we don't have the room

Maybe a few fairy lights then, and a bottle of Baileys!

I already have the Baileys in, I bought 2 so won't need lights as well be seeing stars lol

Awesome as usual!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.74 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 01 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I love the video of you drawing out the tree. Very cool.
I don't have any Christmas traditions anymore. I've sort of rejected the commercialization of it and embraced the more spiritual side of it...kind of. But I do enjoy seeing everyone's decorations. :)

I haven't bought anything for Christmas yet. I make most of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 63989.15
ETH 2749.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66