An overdose of satisfaction -collaborative art with @skapaneas

in #art8 years ago (edited)

At SteemFest @skapaneas gave me this beautiful hand drawn picture of Dali. He asked me to make a collaboration piece with it, so here goes!

I took @skapaneas' Dali picture and scanned it, I then changed the black to blue. I printed it on to thick paper and added oil pastel over the top.


Layers of watercolour applied over the oil pastel.

To complete the piece I added some text and a sprinkle of glitter, well it is Christmas!

The text is part of a Dali quote:

'There are some days when I think I'm going to die from an overdose of satisfaction.' Salvador Dali

See Collaborative art with @skapaneas "Salvador Dali" for details on how to collaborate too!

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

Oh, how cool @opheliafu
I just went to his post to download the photo. :)

Wonderful collaboration! Love Dali's classic expression :-)

The original @skapaneas drawing is fantastic, very detailed.

One of my all time favorite artists! :D

What is your favourite piece?

The Persistence of Memory, of course!
But I also love The Burning Giraffe, The Elephants, The Temptaion of St. Anthony, The Disentigration of the Persistance of Memory and The Meditative Rose.
What about you?

I really like the techniques he uses in the “Aliyah” series and his Alice in Wonderland pieces .

😮 I just learned something! Somehow I have never seen his Alice in Wonderland pieces, and I love them!

I prefer that style of work to his large paintings. I've been to The Dali museum in Florida and London, seeing his large paintings in person is very cool, but I still prefer the smaller paintings.

This is fab, in all the amazing Ophelia colours and the glitter!!!

Yes, I've always felt Dali's work just needed a tad more glam 👄 so I added some glitter. He was so understated in his style 😉

With your guidance just think what he could have achieved!! 😅

I'm thinking Jeff Koons meets Jim Lambie (the glitter pieces)

@opheliafu, you and @skapaneas do will in collaboration. Always liked watching old video of Dali.

Thank you. @skapaneas is a great artist.

I love discovering new places (pages ;) to visit! Magnificent. I've been here just under two weeks and when my husband asks me what it's like I tell him it's a journey to cozy used book stores, art galleries, museums, other countries, trendy coffee shops, haha! Love it.

That's a wonderful description!

Thank you ;) It's the way I will describe it to draw friends, family, and a group of great people on my social media pages who really need to be here instead. Once my brother joins us (he's the musician I post on my page) I know he'll be right with me on it-we'll make a great steemteam :)

Once they get into Steemit I'm sure they will love it.

I love the @opheliafu treatment !!

Are you talking about the artwork or SteemFest?!?

Haha the artwork, though both really ;)

Lovely! I love the collaboration.

Dali would look good on wood!

He would. Not sure if I can make portrait on wood that well. I hope with time I will improve.

You could do just the moustache

:))) That would save some time.

Beautiful work as all her works lady @opheliafu congratulations.
Thank you for these gifts you give us daily

It's always a pleasure to paint and create!

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $23.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 11 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55111.68
ETH 2306.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31