An Equihash birthday party!

in #art7 years ago

It would appear I am now in the habit of sharing my revision notes on my blog after I shared my SteemFest notes (part 1 and part 2) a couple of weeks ago. I say revision notes as if I'm studying for a qualification or future exam. Can you get a qualification in Steemit? Maybe a nice certificate to frame and hang on the wall?

Equihash: an asymmetric Proof-of-Work and the Generalized Birthday Problem

My notes are based around my initial research into Equihash. I was reading @steemitguide's post STEEM Hardfork Version 0.16.0 Informative Post, keeping up with Steemit's Development on GitHub. The change to using Equihash with hardfork 16 caught my eye and I wanted to look into Equihash further. Which took me to this paper by Alex Biryukov and Dmitry Khovratovich. From there I looked into the generalized birthday problem, before returning back to Biryukov's and Khovratovich's paper again.


I then showed my notes to @cryptofunk so that we could have a lengthy discussion about Equihash and answer some of the questions I had. We know how to rock a Sunday night!

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 28. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.69 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 28 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It awesome that you have someone who gets it all to talk through it with. It takes me ages to work things like this out. everyone i know gets that glazed look in their eyes when i mention it.

Try drawing it, that's how I work things out!

Love the graphics

Festive, miss @opheliafu. I want you to come to CA for my birthday next June.

Sounds fun. I'll PM you!

It will be interesting when we switch to Equihash. I'm going to jump on it like a rat on a Cheeto to see how it goes. The miners with lots of GPUs will overpower my efforts but we will see what we get on my Xeon.

Rat on a cheeto, lol! That saying is a new one for me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67