A window to the soul

in #art7 years ago

Glasshouse

I stood in the Glasshouse at Cambridge University Botanic Garden and looked up. The contrast of the metal frame against the sun shining through the panes of glass was perfect as I took the photograph.

I created a negative from that photograph to make a cyanotype from.

'Glasshouse' 2017 - cyanotype on paper

glasshousesml.jpg

I sat this morning drinking my coffee and looking at that cyanotype. The hazy light on the right of the picture and the marks on the glass panes inspired me to write.

photos may 310.jpg

A window to the soul

Made from many panes of glass

Some of them are cracked

Misty and fogged

Some no longer gleam

They are weathered

Dull and muddy

But with a little bit of love

Time to polish and clean

The light that will shine through

Will be brighter than the sun

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

Have a beautiful day!
Sort:  

This poem is wonderful! Thank you for sharing! I'm so glad to see so many other poets out there on steemit! I have a spokenword posted and will have others posted if you would like to share your thoughts! Much Love.

Hey @alittlebitofthis, I see you are new... welcome!! You are going to love it on Steemit :D

Such a beautiful poem. Yes let the light shine on our lives.
Upvoted and followed. Do check out my poem too.
https://steemit.com/poetry/@positivesteem/living-on-our-terms

This window art really reminded me of a greenhouse!

It is a sort of greenhouse- a giant glasshouse!

lovely poem. Thanks for sharing
upvoted followed

Fantastic @nitinchugh, thank you very much!

When your heart has healed, you begin to see light everywhere. Thanks for sharing!

Those are beautiful words @efrageek, thank you for sharing them!

This is lovely! Thank you for sharing!

Glad you enjoy it! Thank you!!

beautiful pictures. thanks for sharing

I'm happy you are enjoying my cyanotype work @businesswri

Keep up the good work! :)

I'm really loving your "cyanotype period", lovely words too :)

Thanks @lloyddavis, it is one of my favourite mediums.

is it smelly? I remember working in an engineering office years ago and having to get blueprints out, which always smelled of ammonia.

make it a pattern for your wall.

That would make pretty trippy paper!

nice story/artwork/post and also breakfast ;)

Lovely breakfast, OK coffee.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51