A windmill cyanotype.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I made this windmill themed cyanotype as a gift for someone at SteemFest. The windmill theme is very Dutch!

I took a lot of art with me to SteemFest to give away, including quite a few cyanotypes. I had a lot of questions asked about the process behind making cyanotypes.

The process

I treated the paper with Ferric ammonium citrate and Potassium ferricyanide mixed with water to form a solution. This made the paper light sensitive. I applied the solution to the paper away from UV light and then left it to dry .

I cut out an image of a windmill and placed it onto the pretreated paper. I added to this a paper doily and flowers. The paper was then exposed to the sun. On the final print the areas where UV rays were blocked stayed white, the areas that were exposed to UV turned blue. The solution is washed off in a water bath and the prints left to dry.

To see a full explanation of how I create cyanotypes see my previous post Catching the sun- creating my cyanotype prints.

I should be unpacking from SteemFest but I have a Christmas stall to prepare a lot of art for by this weekend. I've spent a large part of today cutting and mounting up work to be sold.

This is just a fraction of it so far.

Steemit cat has tried her best to get cuddles, including denying me access to my portflio!

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

https://s25.postimg.org/x0yxbs6tb/dreamlink_FB.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you @opheliafu! I'm now fwd-ing this post to my dad.. Very kind of you to give the work to him! Ps. adorable cat :)

Super! He'll be able to see how his new piece of art was made and that the windmill picture is his actual windmill.
Thank him for the pancakes, they were delicious!

I will! good luck with the christmas stall :)

all of these pieces look amazing, I hope you do well over the weekend.
This process looks like so much fun and reminds me of making Rayogrammes with my dad when i was younger.

Beautiful work finished, a beautiful work lady @opheliafu congratulations on another wonderful work thanks for sharing

so awsome! thank you for sharing the cyanotype technique, I want to try it.

@opheliafu...You are an "artist's artist!" Lol...Fantastic work as usual...Even at Steemfest, you were drawing! :) You inspire me as a fellow artist on steemit...Keep up the great work! Sincerely, You, and @cryptofunk take care okay:)

Wow, these are such kind words. Thank you so much for the support.

Another beautiful piece by @opheliafu! I love that you gifted this to @roelandp's dad. Sweet thought--of course, it comes from you!

Hi @opheliafu! I stumbled across your lovely work today, and am now following. Thanks so much for sharing your techniques with us! :) ;)

It's a pleasure to share my work. I hope you didn't hurt yourself stumbling and falling into the world of @opheliafu!

No, I think I helped myself... ;) Nice to meet you! :)

That's fabulous @opheliafu - I love the display of your work and I'm fascinated with the cyanotype process...but beyond baking, I don't know if chemicals and I get along. LOL
I'm sure Steemit cat was very glad to see you.

Don't combine these chemicals with baking unless you are planning to become one of my skulls!

Those are a lot of cyanotypes. Good luck with your Christmas stall!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $20.45 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00