A morning sketch

in #art7 years ago (edited)

It is a perfect spring morning for sitting in the garden and drawing.

With a steaming cup of coffee in hand and a cat by my side, I put my drawing board on my knee and got on with some sketching.
april 20172.jpg
Today, I was looking at the branches of an elder tree -Sambucus nigra, part of the Adoxaceae family. The elder tree produces edible berries (when cooked), but I have to be quick to pick them before the birds eat them all! You can also make delicious elderflower cordial and wine from the flowers. The name elder is thought to come from 'aeld' the Anglo-saxon meaning for fire.
april 20173.jpg
I created the drawing using marker pen and willow charcoal on paper. I put down some layers of colour using the marker pens first, then added the darker branches using the charcoal. I used a couple of different thicknesses of charcoal to create the lines.
april 20174.jpg
I love to sit outside in the morning a do some quick sketches whilst having my coffee, it adds calm and focus to the start the day!

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

How do you start your day?

Sort:  

When it warms a bit, I enjoy a coffee on the balcony. Watching the water, I usually have something to yammer about to my YouTube channel.
Nice rendering BTW. I followed :)

I always find coffee tastes better outdoors! ☕

@opheliafu, the best way to start the morning.

I do like it when the weather turns and it's possible to sit out again. Great stuff!

Never anything less!!

thank you for sharing, you have a new follower :)

You too- are you going to be posting some more of your drawings soon?

Haces bellezas

There is nothing more inspiring than having a coffee in the garden, excellent work congratulations lady @opheliafu

Thank you 😃🔆☕

Great sketches , a perfect way to start your day !

Fantastic, it's not a bad way to start 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83