Last (Unfinished) Drawing in 2017 ― After Millart (Mastercopy)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Untitled-1.png


The last 3 months of 2017 had been pretty depressing due to the fact that I was so looking forward of going home only to be ignored by the people who are responsible for my visa. It was something I dreaded and it became the means for my depression to take over my mind and body. Needless to say, I stopped drawing little by little until I can no longer bear holding a pencil for a minute or two.


DSCF3513.JPG

DSCF3528.JPG


This mastercopy after Millart is the last unfinished drawing I did in 2017. I wanted to finish this one with all my heart, but I ended up preoccupied with other things, i.e. writing different topics for steemit more than drawing in real life. I question my priorities and I always end up justifying my actions ― I am working hard here so I will have the means to go to school next year.


DSCF3540.JPG

DSCF3550.JPG

DSCF3551.JPG


Until it dawned to me that I am no longer drawing. How about my practice? How about my long-term goal as an artist? Things kept on piling up until I broke down, crying so hard first day of 2018. I was too focused in the monetary aspect (means to go to school) that I forgot to work and practice which is much more important that the money I'll be getting out of Steemit. I mean, don't get me wrong, I really need money right now because aside from my Atelier goal, I am also helping my family back home through blogging.


DSCF3558.JPG

DSCF3563.JPG


Discouraging news kept on coming until I received a newsletter yesterday from Academy of Realist Art Boston about their yearly Scholarship for new students. I contemplated and contemplated a lot. I want to join but at the same time I am so scared of rejections; one of the reasons why I failed at school.

Upon receiving the news, I knew in my heart that I want to try. I asked my good friends about my thought of joining and they are just as excited and happy as I am. I even asked Noah Olsen who is currently a student at ARA, and he said I should definitely go for it.


DSCF3643.JPG


It'll be a roller-coaster ride for the next 2 months. I need to be wise with my time and my priorities. I have so many things I want to accomplish this year, but I know in the end it's going to be my art and my growth as an artist. Hopefully I will be able to draw more and post more.

If you want to know more about the scholarship, you can click this link.

Cheers, everyone! Namaste!





DQmQ9Fqg8z7k1vLefpQdcwqAQXTnaWYdpUNHMAJSjpgeGyR_1680x8400.png

WITNESSES: @aggroed | @ausbitbank | @blocktrades | @cloh76.witness | @curie | @pfunk | @precise | @smooth.witness | @someguy123 | @steemgigs | @timcliff | @utopian-io

Sort:  

I've been looking for great artists around here. This is exemplary :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @olaivart to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Good luck on your application. Your gift is truly wonderful.

Thank you always, @zeppelin! <3

You are very welcome. Stay Happy!

Beautiful! Keep the faith!

Yep yep yep! Thank you, @christianyocte!

Still amazing as always!!

Aweee! Thank you, David! <3 Are you really going to @steemph.cebu's meet-up this weekend? I am friends with @themanualbot, @jassennessaj, and madam miss @smaeunabs. They're very nice!

Lets talk about talent. You have, indeed, a hell of a talent! i could not imagine how much focus you put into your masterpiece! And look on the details... if I may ask, is this what you do for a living? or is it just really your passion?

Looking forward on more post as such. cheers

Awwww thank youuuu, @sam-rt! :) For a living, well, steeming! Hehe. Although I am aiming to enroll in an atelier next year, so basically back to school if heaven permits. For now, I am just steeming and practicing my craft. Self-taught sabi pa nila.

Thanks a lot! See you around!

Nice. good luck!

Thank youuuuuuu! :D

Sweetheart you do not know how much I understand you, the diffulty of needing money to study and also needing money to help family and cost the own needings, and not having enogh time to practice and improve skills and also feel that time is passing... it is frustrating. You have a great talent just apply, do it, work hard and do it. You are a very talented and strong person and a beatiful future is waiting for you to arrive it. Do not give up!

Thank you so much for this beautiful encouragement! Let US not give up, alright? We will reap what we sow in due time. Xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82