FEATURES OF RIZAL: @artguildph Contest #1 Entry

in #art6 years ago (edited)

From picking up and sharpening pencils again to flipping my sketchbook open in hopes of finding a clean sheet; everything felt alien and strangely familiar at the same time.


8.jpgOfficialentry to @artguildph's contest.



A few days ago, @deveerei mentioned in @steemph's discord channel that he will be hosting a contest in @artguildph's account. As one of the (inactive) moderators, I felt compelled to support. After all, @artguildph is one of the initiatives I am willing to pour my heart into.

Here's a little story.

Prior to my hiatus, I have been experiencing the ever inevitable artist block and it was devastating. But despite that, I have been curating for @artguildph's weekly feature of artists in Philippines. It was quite something: helping the minnows, showcasing exceptional talents of Filipino artists, and encouraging those who are in their hiatus including myself.

Unfortunately, my life went into a complete hiatus in 8th of January in a country I can never call home. No pencil, no blank paper, no cellphone, no computer, no internet connection. Everything was taken from me which led to depression yet again.

Good thing @artguildph started their contest which left me with no option other than to participate!

BeFunky-collage (1).jpg

This is my safe place where I feel strongly connected to my inner self. It is where all my creative juices flow freely, and it is where I feel most comfortable (more than my bed). I don't know about you, but I love when my space looks unkempt yet organized in a way that only I understand. My table usually looks really organized until I start drawing/painting and eating simultaneously.

It was raining so hard yesterday yet I still went out to get myself a CLF bulb which cost me $3. I still need to buy a lamp to hold it prettily and a few plants to liven my place of refuge. Any recommendation about which indoor plant to buy? Succulents are always in my options by the way, but which one to get: I have no idea.


BeFunky-collage.jpg OLD WORKS (2013 - 2015)


I'd like to believe I only did the facial features in fear of disappointing myself. Unluckily, I am very hard about my works and once I cannot meet the supposed quality I already achieved (in drawing), I start losing interest again. But then I realized I have been doing it for as long as I can remember and actually liked it.

From left to right sketches: Girl With The Pearl Earring of Vermeer, Inky Callora, and Mona Lisa of da Vinci

BeFunky-collage (5).jpg

When I am not drawing from life, this is my usual set-up. My laptop screen's divided into two: one for the drawing reference and the other one for my favorite Korean drama series ― Reply (TV Series). Honestly, this gives me the total concentration despite being distracted by the show.

But if I am working from life, either I listen to Korean songs or classical music in violin. Here's one of my favorites if you fancy the same thing.




WORK IN PROGRESS



BeFunky-collage (6).jpg

After doing the initial stages, I thought, "Okay. I am back to square one." I felt lost connecting the lines and balancing the features. I know I neglected a lot of rules which I learned last year, and it only came to mind after having mistakes here and there. Nonetheless, I am okay of how it turned out. Definitely not close to the quality of drawings I did last year, but it definitely felt something to me and I'm content with that.

BeFunky-collage (7).jpg

The final drawing may not look like the reference photo, and when that happens, I always remind myself that it is the journey and not the destination. My friend once told me, "Done is better than perfect." And I couldn't agree more. He knows I can get so hard on myself to the point of not doing anything, but I have learned how to combat my not-so-good drawings and that is to move on to another drawing.

If you are interested in joining, kindly click this link: ArtGuildPH Contest #1: An Art for Jose Rizal! Join now! Use the tags #artguildph to be featured by the group and add #philippines tag for @bayanihan to see your awesome works!

Cheers & Namaste!



DQmQuRC7j4HFpxk1rdofTYy8DycM3i6qgv6HcuWqd8JcePu.png

Sort:  

I love your style of drawing. The one face in the group looks like Mona Lisa. I think I should post an image of my studio in my next blog as well!! I will keep a lookout for more art from you. My voting power is a bit depleted but I upvoted anyway.

Depleted upvote is still an upvote, so thank you @juniorshelver! Seems like I've found another gem here in steemit and that is you. I followed back! your artworks are outstanding! :) And yes to studio picture, I dig that!

See you around and thank you again! Cheers!

Yes I feel the same way. I was especially moved by your creative space pic. I know the feeling as one sits down in that, almost sacred, space and the creative juices start to flow!!

Truest! Looking forward to seeing your studio, @juniorshelver! 🌻

Sage words done is better than perfect.

When we are often too hard on ourselves that we feel anxiety and never finish something.

Hope to see you do more of your artworks.

When I write I have one screen with my writing and the other on a show I am watching and sometimes it's distracting but often it puts me into the zone.

Exactly! It puts me in the zone, too. :) Thanks, Mav!

this is a tremendous success for you @olaivart

success in a way that im drawing again. :) thank you, @saiful46!

OMG! ANG GALEEEEENG @olaivart

I like the "It is the journey and not the destination" part. I'll practice that, hehe

Thank you, mdm @adeline24! :) I have very few friends, and luckily, they are all wise and they're everything to me.

you are very talented. Your drawings are so detailed and concise. :)

Means a lot to me! Thank youuuu, @robiney! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57