EVENT UPDATE: Paintings I'm Selling

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180823_050700.jpgPhoto Reference Location: Sharjah, UAE



It's been a while! In 3 days that I've been away, I was able to make 6 small paintings I call Postcard Paintings which I'll be selling during the event. Most of them are sunset and cloud paintings that are all originals since I took the reference photos myself.

I am currently using the Winsor & Newton Acrylic set which I bought in Dubai last 2016. I almost backed out because the papers I have with me aren't working, but thank goodness I checked out one of our little town's stores, and they have Canvas Papers with them, which is what I am painting on right now.


InShot_20180823_041901768.jpg

InShot_20180823_042119720.jpg

InShot_20180823_041818921.jpg


These 3.8x6 inches paintings are around $9, and I wonder if I am charging too much. But when I posted them online, those who are not into arts but are potential-buyers say that it is too much for such a small painting, but then I received few messages from artist friends that I am charging too little, that I should first sell prints before the original ones.

But when it's your first time selling in public and making a name to your local art scene, you need to adjust a little. Mass producing artwork is one, and it's what I'm doing right now. I am using quality paint, paper, and fixative only to charge $9. Not to mention the time, effort, and heart put into each pieces.

And I mean, they are originals and not just photos taken from royalty free websites. Although I have nothing against people doing that because I do that as well.


InShot_20180823_041954080.jpg

InShot_20180823_042027567.jpg


I am not ranting though, I just hope people become more appreciative to the the artists behind the artworks they admire.

How are you guys? Thoughts about what I said? Is my price really that high for the quality (look/feel) they're getting in return?

Talk to all of you soon!
Namaste!



Footer_olaivart-1.png

Sort:  

Price is always tricky. Being an artist myself I'd probably agree with the selling of prints of your work and pricing originals higher. To me, that is a lot of work for only $9, but you will find the right system and amount that feels comfortable for you.

It was already cheap, hehe, still it didn't work out that well. I am just glad I was able to go out and display my works for the p[ublic to see. It was actually my first time, and I had a total breakdown prior to the event.

Thank you, @donnadavisart! I appreciate you!

Woaaaah so proud of you lai! Mao sad na problema nako sauna when I did portraits and charged them for 200 pesos. Some people muhangyo pa not considering the amount of time (mostly mutake ug 1 week per portrait) and the materials I have to buy. Hinuon pd students to kasagaran mga ngpa com sauna and need sad gyud nako money for school maong ok rapud.

Pero I realized na we dont have to dive the price pra lang ma please sila. We should stick with our price and our worth. And honestly, I find your pieces worth more than the price you charge. Maybe you have a friend pud na mag art sale sa malls. You should reach them out kay usually naa sa mga 5k min ako makit-an, samot na ug bongga ang frame.

Yes to 200php! I did that as well. To think that it should have been around 800 sa akong skill that time. Hehe. Pero okay ra, I needed money as well. And thank you so much, madz! Appreciate the compliment. :) Lagi, mag-try na gyud ko sell sa mall or wherever nga pwede. Will also reach out to local museums.

Personally these are wonderful original paintings, certainly for the originals I feel you could ask much more. I would consider doing a limited print run to sell alongside the original to give you a better return on the time invested.

Pricing is always going to be tricky, I would look at what similar work already sells for to give you an idea - and don't be afraid to start high and work down.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Hello, @c0ff33a! Thanks for the feedback. I've learned that printing the paintings really works, but Ive done it too late, but will definitely do it the next event which will happent his December.

Thanks again! And also, love the username. Speaks volume to me! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97