Witchy Linework Drawing - my SteemMonster Enchantress

in #art6 years ago

witchface

I don't know about you guys, but I am thrilled to see the return of Trial By Comics. Sure, I've got a lot of other drawings to tackle, with trying to breathe life into my comic book project, but sometimes it's nice to take a step back and draw something just for fun. And with the theme this week being our own interpretation of a Steem Monsters card, there are plenty of ideas to run with! The "fantasy" theme is so up my alley.

After perusing the cards, there were plenty that jumped out at me. This was just the first that I felt inspired to fully sketch out, and see through. I'm actually hoping to find the time to do at least one more. Even if I don't get another finished before the deadline, I may just continue to draw one of these here and there, to keep the creative juices flowing, and keep my mind fresh.

Here is my "Enchantress of the Night"
EN

And here is the original:
SM

I started with a prelim sketch, in my tiny sketchbook, to get a feel for the pose, costume, etc.
tiny

Then today I got my hands on a beauty of a piece of bristol, and it just begged to be drawn on.
sketch

And then I had some fun with my micron pens.
ink

I may come back to this and give it some color. I'm thinking it's begging for some paint, but I want to do a test patch on another piece of the bristol before I risk fudging this one. And I'm really enjoying the simplicity and crispness of the linework for now.

Have any of you played Steem Monsters?

I've yet to actually play the game, but I can definitely see this being something I could get really in to.

Sort:  

Well done @offbeatbroad, honestly, love your version much more :) It's more seductive and less scary than original.

Thanks very much! What can I say, I just can't resist putting a bit of a pinup twist on things. lol

Well, that pin-up is your specific art spice and I love your work because of it @offbeatbroad.

Lovely lineart. My favourite part is how you made her hands and fingers. Quite a delicate expression :).

-upvoted-

Thank you! I really like drawing detailed hands, and in dainty positions. I think it's part of my fascination with vintage/pinup paintings and fashion.

Lovely linework and cute cartoony style that also hints at some classic cheesecake. I also like that you gave her some owl ink.

Thanks! Yeah, I definitely have a love for the classic cheesecake pinup paintings. And tattoos. haha

Well, I mean what soulless monster doesn't like those things? :)

aaah very nice ! love the inking style and the step by step is greatgreat <3 Nice pose and I love that owl tat on her <3

Thanks for the kind words! I had a lot of fun designing her tattoo... I might have tattoo envy now. Haha

I like her, she looks a bit freaky and cool at the same time! well done :)

Freaky and cool - yep, that about sums up witches for me. (As well as most of my aesthetic. lol)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Perfect balanced work. And I am excited about its color version.

Thanks! I will try to get some paint on there in the next week or so. 😊
For now, I've decided to leave her until I have more time, and went ahead and painted a second Steem Monsters card instead.

I've been seeing so much about steem Monsters but haven't actually played it yet. I love your take on the Enchantress though! So awesome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72