An Illuminated Painting - my SteemMonster Angel

in #art6 years ago

face

This is my second entry for this round of TBC. I can't remember specifically, but I'm fairly certain I've only ever managed to do 2 entries for one round of @kommienezuspadt's contest like once before, so I'm feeling rather accomplished. My first entry, the Enchantress of the Night I posted a couple days ago, was just a simple line drawing. For my second entry, I had considered doing another line drawing, but after I managed to pump out the sketch and outline within one day (a rarity for me these days), I decided to take advantage of the extra time I had before the deadline, and see it through to completion, with some paint.

This is my version of the Steem Monster "Angel of Light"
angel

And this is the original:
sm

As with my other entry, this one started as a rough draft in my tiny sketchbook.
tiny

And then after enjoying using a nice heavy piece of bristol for my last one, I decided to draw her on the other piece of bristol I had.
sketch

I gave her the same inking technique that I used on my witch, with varying sizes of microns.
ink

And then I painted her in with my little set of Prima paints. Here are a few progress shots:
skin

costume

hair

I had a lot of fun with this one. She was a bit of a challenge, but I really enjoyed playing around with a few different techniques, and pushing myself.

I gotta say, I really enjoyed the @steemmonsters theme this week!

I will likely still revisit my first drawing, and give it some paint as well, but I'll do that in my own time, when I can focus on it without a deadline looming over me. 😉 I do tend to work well under pressure, but sometimes it's nice to just do things for the sheer joy of it, rather than feeling the stress of a time crunch.

And now I'm excited to see what the next round of Trial by Comics might be!

Sort:  

Bravooooo!!!! Best ever @offbeatbroad! Good luck with competition :)

Thank you so much @jungwatercolor! I feel like I'm finally getting into a groove with these new paints.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

really nice angel, @offbeatbroad !!! love the pose and your style is always super nice <3 good luck in the competition !! :D

She is a beautiful angel, I like how you created her hair and the wings <3.

Good luck with the competition ^_^.

-upvoted-

Thank you @scrawly! I had a lot of fun with all the details. I'm especially pleased with how the shading on the wings turned out. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74