Stranger Kids - Eleven and the gang from "Stranger Things"

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This was a total labor of love.

When @kommienezuspadt announced the theme for his Trial by Comics contest earlier this week I was so stoked! (Follow the link for all the info on how to enter!) I was totally thrilled with the choice for last week as well, but unfortunately, we had a lot going on, and time constraints made it so that I wasn't able to get anything even close to finished enough to enter. BUT I knew I could find the time to do something this week, and when I saw that the theme was one of my favorite new shows, I instantly knew what I wanted to do.

strangerkids
** Updated Dec 6 with better photo, since the sun finally decided to make an appearance

I decided to work with my watercolors on this one, and I must say that I'm happy with my choice. I still spent plenty of time on it, but things sort of came together a lot faster than they would've if I had gone the colored pencil route. My wrist thanks me. lol Plus, there's just something about that soft/translucent finish...

So, I started out with a sketch, just simple HB pencil on my pentalic sketch/pen paper. Then went back and refined some lines, fixed up some details, using a nice soft, 5B pencil.
sketch

Then I decided I'd ink the outline before painting this time.
ink

And then I laid down the base colors,
base

Some details and shading,
shading

And then the background.
background

Here are a couple detail shots. (UPDATED with better photos.)
kids

board

Do you watch the show? We just finished the second season last night, and now we're left with the worst part about Netflix shows... waiting a year for the next season to come out, after you finish binge-watching it! lol 😅 I'm a big fan, but also curious where they're planning to go from here... Sure, things were left somewhat open, but I'm wondering how much of a departure the next season will be from the first 2. I don't want to see them fall into the trap of rehashing the same plot line every season. I guess it'll be a wait and see (and cross your fingers) scenario. haha

Hope you like this week's offering!

Megan

Sort:  

Nailed it! love that show and you captured the feeling of each one of them.

Thanks so much! It can be intimidating to draw characters that people love.

Awesome!!!!! 😍😍😍😍

Thanks lady! I love the show, so it was lots of fun doing this.

I love it too, I did not like it when they killed off samwise gamgee tho 😂 I mean bob 😂

Mike and Will are spot on!

WOW! I’m glad that you found the time to work on this in your spare time! It turned out really cool! The clothes and their expressions look awesome.

Thank you so much! It was really fun to work on. I could see myself doing a lot more plaid clothing in my paintings. hahaha

i upvote
please upvote i

It is awesome!! :D :D I love it!

Thank you @beekart! That means a lot, coming from such a great artist!

dont be silly looking at your artwork u are definitely a great artist yourself! :D looks really cool!

Awesome work there. Great line art

My experience with watercolor has been disastrous. I applaud your talent with the medium. Thanks for sharing. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the support!

LOL! Watercolor is definitely a fickle bitch. 😂 But when things work, the results are so satisfying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63177.41
ETH 2439.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58