SKETCHY SUNDAY #8 - getting reacquainted with old characters

in #art7 years ago

Hey guys!

It's Sunday evening here, and that means it's time for me to share a little something from the sketchbook. This week I've been busy getting reacquainted with some old characters of mine... the ones I showed you in a couple of old posts, including my very first SKETCHY SUNDAY. I dug out the folder that had the old beginnings of a graphic novel that I had started years ago, as well as a pile of character sketches. I've decided to revisit, and redesign the characters, and I'm hoping to come up with an actual cohesive story line, and rewrite/finish the comic. The original work was basically just a fun little project to keep me drawing, and work on my character building skills... but upon rereading it, I've decided it's something that could actually be something, given the proper effort. So stay tuned for more on that. But for now, here are a couple of pages from my sketchbook this week.

Here, I was drawing up a few characters in my latest comic-ish style, getting a feel for each of them again, as well as trying to decide on some new hairdos/redesigns on a couple that I wasn't a fan of from the first go 'round.
hairdos

This was just a fun sketch of a couple of the main characters, to get back into the mindset of these characters and their story line... I've started to color it, and I'll be sure to share the finished piece once it's done.
liamlelia

And this was a bit of fun, something I've had in mind for a while. I can imagine it fully colored, with lots of fun light... I think I may need to dig out my Wacom to color this one the way I want to. (Which means it likely won't be done for some time yet.) Plus I want to get into the habit of drawing profiles more regularly, since I've always found them so challenging.
lelia


What are your techniques for character development? Any helpful resources you could recommend? I'd love any feedback.

See you next time!

Megan

Sort:  

Interesting sketches have high scores

I’ve found many of the steemit acquaintances I’m following are arty and talented in whatever forms of drawing, you are one of those.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43