🦚Just a Tiny Peacock - A Colorful Little Drawing ✍️

in #art4 years ago

Hey everyone!

As I said in my last post I’ve got plenty of things I want to share with you all, and let me tell you, it’s been tough deciding where to start. But, since I’m still getting back into the swing of things, I figured I’d start off with something that’s not going to require hours of editing and formatting, like my foodie posts. (Maybe I’ll work on getting one of those together for you all next week, if there’s interest.)

I have had a million things going on this last year or so, and while I’ve tried to include drawing somewhat regularly, it’s not always top priority. I have managed to pick up a pencil here and there, and even managed to finish a few bigger paintings, but today I wanted to share this cute little fella from what I’ve affectionately dubbed my “tiny sketchbook”. I tend to use it as a place to rough out ideas before starting into bigger pieces, but sometimes what I think is going to be a quick sketch or doodle gains a bit of a life of its own, and I become driven to finish it, which is the case with this piece.

cocky

I’m not entirely sure what inspired this drawing. I mean, I’ve always loved peacocks… Hell, we had peacock feathers as the color scheme and one of the key decorations at our wedding. And I’ve been meaning to draw something up for some time now, as I’ve been planning on having one tattooed for ages. This doesn’t quite fit the bill for that, but for whatever reason, I just had the urge to get some of those beautiful feathers on paper.

It started out simply enough, with a little sketchy doodle:
doodle

But the muse wasn’t totally satisfied with just getting the idea to paper, so I continued refining it, until I was happy with most of the details:
drawing

And then the pens started calling my name, so I decided to refine it further, with some ink:
inked

But then, it just didn’t have the impact I needed, so out came the Prismacolor pencils, and I layered colors to give it that iridescent feel. It also gave me the opportunity to use the gold pencil, and give it a bit of sparkle. I’ve come to really enjoy giving my pieces a bit of gilding.
color

Little miss doesn't like to let me out of her sight for long, so she was checking in on my progress throughout the process. Then, of course, she had to make sure to get in on the “proof of work selfie”. haha
selfie


Well, that's it from me today. I hope you liked seeing the progress on this little guy.

What do you guys want to see next?

I have a bunch more artwork to share with you guys, plus lots of yummy food, and some random adventures.

Help me get started on my next post by letting me know in the comments! 👇
Sort:  

Spectacular drawing, would definitely want to see more

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work

Hello @offbeatbroad, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86