Growing as an Artist - The Beauty of Creating Original Characters

in #art7 years ago

Happy Monday!

It's been a week since I've had a chance to sit down with my computer, so I'm feeling very much behind on things... but visiting with my mama was priority, especially since I really only get to see her maybe twice/year. We're hoping to make that a bigger number from now on, but distance and the ridiculous expense of Canadian travel makes it difficult. In any case, it was really nice to spend some time together, without added distractions. But, I am happy to get settled back into our usual routine, and spend some time playing catch up on some of the things I've missed over the last 7 days.

One of the things I've been working on, artistically, is the refurb of my old graphic novel, and the characters that were created to go with it. They've been great inspiration over the years, and serve as the perfect canvas to try out new styles from time to time. So, today I wanted to share a few of the different incarnations they've had over the years. I'm still playing around with them, even with having roughed out a couple of panels. 😅

This is the first panel, redrawn just over a week ago. I'm still not 100% convinced this is the style I'm sticking with, but it's progress.
panel1

And this is a panel from the first couple pages of the original:
oldpanel

I have mentioned a couple times in the past that these characters, and the beginning of the work on the comic book, were thought up a long while ago. lol

This is one of the very first character concept pages:
neutrals

After a while I decided that the style I had started with was way too basic, and limited, and I decided to challenge myself with drawing them in a much more realistic, still "cartoony" style.
cantlook

heyyou

awcomeon

I also love to draw in a cutesy anime style from time to time, and gave them a whirl in that style a couple of times.

These sketches were inspired by Ranma 1/2
ranmastyle

And this one was just me having fun trying to come up with some super exaggerated expressions... helpful when you're drawing comics, and the images sometimes need to speak for themselves. (If any of you have seen my work before, you'll know how much I love drawing expressive faces.)
animepage

Fast forward a few years, after taking a long hiatus from drawing, I finally decided it was time to pick up a pencil again, and one of the first things that came to mind was my old comic characters. So, I decided to do a quick revisit, and see what came out.
characters

And this is one of the newest drawings, which I shared last week in my SKETCHY SUNDAY post, and is currently in the midst of being colored.
new

The newest drawings seem to fit somewhere in the middle of the slightly more realistic cartoon style I had been doing, and the more cutesy, big-eyed style. Things are definitely still in progress, and I'll probably do a few more character study pages before I settle on what I'm going to continue with. Plus, I'm going to sit down and rough out a story board, which I never did with the original... which is probably a good indication as to why I stopped working on it. (It's generally difficult to continue when you don't know where you're going.)

Do you have original characters that you like to work with? Or another type of creative muse?

Do you like to change your drawing style from time to time, or even piece to piece?

Who or what are your biggest inspirations? Or how do you fuel your creativity?

That's all for now, hopefully I'll have something finished before the week is through. Also, stay tuned tomorrow for a new TASTY TREAT TUESDAY post. Trust me, you don't want to miss it! 😉

See you then!

Megan

Sort:  

No creative muse of favourite personal character, I wish there was one though... Thanks for those amazing drawings, they are great! :) and thanks for reminding me of that Ranma 1/2 manga... aaah... Loved it when i was a kid :) So funny

Thank you!
Hahaha Yes, I spent a few too many hours watching the cartoon. So amusing!

Hey, this is some very refreshing point of view here, @offbeatbroad! I love the fact that you're revisiting your artistic concept. I do it a lot myself. I really like your drawing style. I like how you construct them, they are very much 3D! And they're so expressive. You've got some powerful skills, Megan :) I'm very curious about your shading techniques :)
Looking forward to more! :D
All the best,
Klaudia

Thank you! I'll have to get to work on my penciling, and shading. Getting back into the groove of it all. haha

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists and art lovers on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

Awesome! It's always nice to have a new place to discover more artists here. Following now. 😊

very-very good picture ok I've vote.jangan forgot vote back

All these different ways you draw and the several styles are a very good pratice and lovely work. I hope to see more from you. You got a new follower!

Awesome, thanks for the support!

I have my original characters, the BlueWonkies : you are the artiste.png
and sometimes I like to make a more "wild" version of them :
youpi.png
or a more poetical one :
beautifoolwaving.png
even when I draw animals, they are imaginary...
elephant.png
and the robots are cheerful
robot 1.png
So yes I like to change but the core of my art always stays the same colorful cheerfulness I think ;-) (...and a love for the blue, it seems ^_^)

Wow, the progression from the first onwards is amazing. I am really liking your style. It's fun to see a style emerge with repetition and honing of things. I look forward to the progression of this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59